Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Author Topic: Is it possible to add a built in mod trough dialogue?  (Read 4287 times)

Voiddweller

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Is it possible to add a built in mod trough dialogue?
« on: April 19, 2019, 12:46:27 PM »

My goal is making a reward or upgrade system, to make common ships more unique, special, as time passes.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2019, 12:59:37 PM by Voiddweller »

Sundog

• Admiral
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to add a built in mod trough dialogue?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2019, 08:47:50 AM »

I'm not an expert on this sort of thing, so take all this with a grain of salt.

Built-in mods are defined by the hull specification of the ship, meaning that even if you could add a built in mod to a ship , it would add the same mod to every other ship of the same class. However, there are at least three (edit: two) other types of hull mod, and ShipVariantAPI has a method to add each of them.
Perma - Typically D-Mods. I assume any perma mod would automatically come with the baggage of a D-Mod (the orange bar, deployment cost reduction, removed on restoration, etc.) but I may be wrong (edit: I was). If there's a way to avoid those things, using addPermaMod might be your best bet.
Suppressed - No idea. Hopefully someone with more knowledge will come by to enlighten us. (edit: see Alex's post below)
Normal - Your everyday removable mods. Honestly, this might be your best option, as long as there's any reason a player might want to remove your special mods. I'm pretty sure you could still ensure that they could only be added through your system.