Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Skills and Story Points (07/08/19)

Author Topic: 99% GPU use on main menu/combat  (Read 499 times)

Adam AltF4

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
99% GPU use on main menu/combat
« on: March 07, 2019, 11:09:08 AM »

Hi, long time lurker and player. Firstly love the game, excellent work, Alex. Can't wait to see what comes in the future.

My issue is that only *sometimes* my GPU maxes out when opening the game on the main menu, and begins to become quite slow. If I get myself into a game, it then runs fine, until I enter combat or a combat simulation via the refit screen. If I restart my game 4-5 times? This issue tends to go away during the multiple restart sequence.

I have a numerous amount of mods, which I am sure could be the issue. But I have only recently begun encountering this, even after playing long extended plays of the game with many mods.

My list is: another portrait pack, arsenal expansion, artefact, autosave, combat chatter, console commands, dassault-mikoyan, diableavionics, DaRa, foundations of borken, graphicslib, magiclib, lazylib, nex, oga portrait pack, ora, scy, seeker, shadowyards, ship and weapons pack, sylphon, tahlan, underworld, unknown skies

My game seems to function perfectly when I boot it up enough times that this doesn't happen, but a more permanent fix would be much more preferable! :D
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 14444
    • View Profile
Re: 99% GPU use on main menu/combat
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2019, 11:20:39 AM »

Hi - welcome to the forum and all that :)

Hmm - one thing I'd suggest trying is turning off shaders from the GraphicsLib settings file. I don't know that that's necessarily the problem - or what the problem might be, since this seems pretty strange - but it seems worth a shot since it's a fairly simple thing to try.

Are you sure it's the GPU maxing out?

Is it possible that the game ends up running using a different graphics card (such as, say, an integrated one on the motherboard, as some laptops often have)?

Or, perhaps, it's some kind of power-saving profile/mode kicking in?

Does this happen if you run vanilla without mods?

It's just hard to say what the problem might be. Was this always an issue or did it start at a certain point? If it's the latter, might be worth thinking about what changed then.
Logged

Adam AltF4

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 99% GPU use on main menu/combat
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2019, 11:44:44 AM »

Thanks, Alex!

I run a desktop PC, so I don't think it can be the use of a different graphics card.

I'm not sure about the profile swap over? I'm constantly using the PC then decide to boot up SS and it occurs, as far as I know I don't have any profiles like that enabled. Although I have just fresh installed Win10, and I'm honestly quite new to it - So perhaps? But I feel like I'd maybe see a notification or something about that. Win10 seems to love giving those...

It shows the GPU at 99% in the Task Manager open on my 2nd monitor when tabbed into the game. As soon as I click out (I run it in fullscreen window'd) the GPU drops down to 5% or so with the rest of what my PC is doing at that moment.

I'm 99% sure it never happened with vanilla. And I think it began when I started modding the game, but I can't say at what point. I was kinda on a mod spree adding new mods every so often and restarting each hour or so! Cause mods <3

-

I'll edit GraphicsLib now and advised if it occurs again. It's so random it can be tricky to reproduce sometimes...
Logged

Adam AltF4

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 99% GPU use on main menu/combat
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2019, 02:33:19 AM »

Just to add:

System Specs:

GTX 960 - 2GB
16 GB RAM
i5 3.20 GHx

And my allocated RAM through the guide given on Starsector is 6GB
« Last Edit: March 08, 2019, 04:29:46 AM by Adam AltF4 »
Logged

Friends19

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: 99% GPU use on main menu/combat
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2019, 05:24:28 AM »

Hello, I have run into this issue before and would like to add my system specs and temporary fix of the issue.

Specs:
Ryzen 1600 OC to 3.8 GHz
16gb ddr4 ram (3gb to starsector)
Gtx 1060 3gb

This issue occurs randomly on boot at fullscreen windowed at my native resolution (2560x1440). It will drop my fps to 3-4 and max out my gpu usage on the main menu. It progresses to the main game and in combat or any other screen.
My temporary fix is to run at non native resolution. So instead of 2560x1440 it would be 1920x1200 and I never have the problem again. Switching back to native at that point would again randomly on boot or in combat (so far) drop fps to 3 and 98% gpu usage.

Love this game :)

Edit: it shows it is running off the primary GPU (1060). Power saving was disabled and everything runs as hard as it can. I have not personally tested it without mods. Atleast, not long or often enough for this bug to show up.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2019, 10:33:16 AM by Friends19 »
Logged

koalabog

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: 99% GPU use on main menu/combat
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2019, 12:46:28 PM »

I am having the same issue and from my testing it is "fixed" by changing the graphics lib configuration to disable it. i have not tested if it is any specific feature that causes it though
Logged