Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Skills and Story Points (07/08/19)

Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 56

Author Topic: Starsector 0.9.1a (Released) Patch Notes  (Read 90896 times)

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 6914
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #240 on: April 07, 2019, 10:37:11 AM »

I do not mind the early-game jackpot.  It is nice to get some good stuff early so that it is handy when I can build things.  What is annoying is getting more junk or nothing late and I still need to raid core worlds for the rest of the blueprints I cannot find (which are many) and possibly the pristine nanoforge.  Alpha cores tend to be rare (although I have not used cores in my games).

In some games, I find something great (like pristine nanoforge) early, then could not find more later.  I rather have a good find early, ready to use anytime when I am ready, instead of grinding at the end (raiding core worlds) after I have effectively won the game.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2019, 10:40:14 AM by Megas »
Logged

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2294
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #241 on: April 07, 2019, 01:44:10 PM »

My issue is more that late game even a fresh colony will have bad loot, as blueprints don't replicate so instead the ruins get nothing.
Blueprints do replicate, actually; it's hullmod specifications that get filtered out if you already know them.

It's both - ruins won't give duplicate (known) blueprints or hull mods. And since you don't get to reroll the duplicate blueprints or anything, it does indeed mean the quality & value of ruins finds greatly diminishes as a game advances.
False.  I have gotten duplicates of known blueprints from ruins, both exploration and tech-mining.  Also, I looked at the code, and it's just hullmods that have duplicates filtered out.  (And even then, only from exploration sources; you can get duplicate hull-mod specs off of defeated enemy fleets, for example.)
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

eamax

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #242 on: April 07, 2019, 02:34:39 PM »

There's a bug (fixed for .1) where the deserter bounties - the ones that are supposed to be the tough ones - use pirate-available weapons and fighters, instead of drawing from their original faction's sets. This makes them woefully under-gunned; probably what you're experiencing.

After testing, that's the problem. I need this fix now <3 !
Logged

Shad

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #243 on: April 07, 2019, 03:36:03 PM »

My issue is more that late game even a fresh colony will have bad loot, as blueprints don't replicate so instead the ruins get nothing.
Blueprints do replicate, actually; it's hullmod specifications that get filtered out if you already know them.

It's both - ruins won't give duplicate (known) blueprints or hull mods. And since you don't get to reroll the duplicate blueprints or anything, it does indeed mean the quality & value of ruins finds greatly diminishes as a game advances.
False.  I have gotten duplicates of known blueprints from ruins, both exploration and tech-mining.  Also, I looked at the code, and it's just hullmods that have duplicates filtered out.  (And even then, only from exploration sources; you can get duplicate hull-mod specs off of defeated enemy fleets, for example.)
I have tried this in a few campaigns and can't seem to get mining blueprint  dupicates. It's always the same: early game tech mines rain blueprints from any planet. Late game I could simultaneously colonise 3-4 pristine extensive/vast ruins and not have a single blueprint in half a year or more.

Research bases do appear do drop duplicates though.
Logged

Zhentar

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #244 on: April 07, 2019, 04:54:22 PM »

False.  I have gotten duplicates of known blueprints from ruins, both exploration and tech-mining.  Also, I looked at the code, and it's just hullmods that have duplicates filtered out.  (And even then, only from exploration sources; you can get duplicate hull-mod specs off of defeated enemy fleets, for example.)

Look harder then, because TechMining.generateCargoForGatheringPoint clearly filters out known ship, weapon, fighter, and industry blueprints in addition to hullmods.


Edit: I think it would be nice if the filtered out blueprints rolled AI core replacements. I've got 5 synchrotrons and 23 corrupted nanoforges in storage but not enough Alpha or Beta cores! Plus gamma cores to buy forgiveness from factions after covert raids for blueprints would be nice  ;)

As for tech mining, I think it would work better to roll a list of "special"/"first" finds up front and then trickle them out over a couple years. I'd rather have the fixes in 0.9.1 and wait for 0.10 for that, though.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2019, 06:44:23 PM by Zhentar »
Logged

Thaago

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3925
  • Quantum Mechanic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #245 on: April 08, 2019, 09:32:47 AM »

Huh. I most certainly get duplicate blueprints - I must have gotten 7 luddic blueprint packs in my last run, and I certainly did not have all of them (I never did get any missiles, which was a giant PITA. I really want the low, med, and high tech packs to have at least a few missile racks).
Logged

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2294
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #246 on: April 08, 2019, 12:21:33 PM »

Huh.  Double-checked the code again, and it looks like I did, in fact, misread it.  ...Really could have sworn I'd gotten duplicate blueprints out of those, but I guess not.  (Research Stations and the like, though, can definitely give duplicate blueprints.)
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2596
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #247 on: April 08, 2019, 04:19:04 PM »

Alex, this is in reply to your Twitter post since I have no Twitter
As someone that has played SS on three laptops, using their trackpads, through out the years, I can say that as long as the trackpad has decent palm protection/ detection and dedicated buttons, you can play SS with it. I only had to get a mouse to play SS with my newest laptop due to the fact that it has neither of those and is similar to the (cr)apple one button trackpad design
Logged
Stop trying to balance the game around a few minmaxers...
Programming is like sex:
One mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life.

Tired of having your game crash because of out of date mods? Then click here!
Spoiler
Get Version Checker today! Now with 90% less hassle! Simply toss it into your mod folder, activate the mod like a normal one and BINGO you will now be informed of any and all updates when you start SS campaign up!
[close]

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 14480
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #248 on: April 08, 2019, 04:36:10 PM »

Alex, this is in reply to your Twitter post since I have no Twitter
As someone that has played SS on three laptops, using their trackpads, through out the years, I can say that as long as the trackpad has decent palm protection/ detection and dedicated buttons, you can play SS with it. I only had to get a mouse to play SS with my newest laptop due to the fact that it has neither of those and is similar to the (cr)apple one button trackpad design

Thank you! Going to point them to this.
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2596
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #249 on: April 08, 2019, 08:18:24 PM »

Alex, this is in reply to your Twitter post since I have no Twitter
As someone that has played SS on three laptops, using their trackpads, through out the years, I can say that as long as the trackpad has decent palm protection/ detection and dedicated buttons, you can play SS with it. I only had to get a mouse to play SS with my newest laptop due to the fact that it has neither of those and is similar to the (cr)apple one button trackpad design

Thank you! Going to point them to this.
No problem! One note though is that I played with such low end machines that my average FPS was around 15 to 30. SS feels SOOO much different between 30 and 60! no
Logged
Stop trying to balance the game around a few minmaxers...
Programming is like sex:
One mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life.

Tired of having your game crash because of out of date mods? Then click here!
Spoiler
Get Version Checker today! Now with 90% less hassle! Simply toss it into your mod folder, activate the mod like a normal one and BINGO you will now be informed of any and all updates when you start SS campaign up!
[close]

Schwartz

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #250 on: April 21, 2019, 12:04:20 AM »

Any ETA on when the .1 release will roll around? Picked up the game again recently and stuff like this (spoilers) keeps ruining my fun.
Logged

Serenitis

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 729
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #251 on: April 21, 2019, 02:26:08 AM »

The Legion XIV's are populated in constellations, so yes they are very clustered! Other things are populated in regions as well...
Has anyone else noticed that if you investigate any of the Legion XIVs but don't choose to recover it immediately and leave it in place for later, when you come back to pick it up the option to recover it is no longer available and you have no choice but to break it for parts.

I'm not sure if this is just general wreck recovery logic, or something specific to the Legions as I've never noticed this behaviour previously.
Granted, I've never been in a position to want to 'leave a wreck for later' before as they are usually all drifting and need a snap decision before they vanish anyway.
Logged

SapphireSage

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #252 on: April 21, 2019, 08:50:29 AM »

Any ETA on when the .1 release will roll around? Picked up the game again recently and stuff like this (spoilers) keeps ruining my fun.

As was pointed out in goduranus's large thread, you can remove all weapons from your carriers to force them to be more timid. Although this means that enemies will underestimate your forces.

Has anyone else noticed that if you investigate any of the Legion XIVs but don't choose to recover it immediately and leave it in place for later, when you come back to pick it up the option to recover it is no longer available and you have no choice but to break it for parts.

I'm not sure if this is just general wreck recovery logic, or something specific to the Legions as I've never noticed this behaviour previously.
Granted, I've never been in a position to want to 'leave a wreck for later' before as they are usually all drifting and need a snap decision before they vanish anyway.

Just a few days ago when I started a new game, I went bounty hunting as a solo frigate and bumped into a couple of Legion XIV's so knowing that my interactions with them will prevent me from salvaging them is a bit depressing, even if I wasn't planning on using them.
Logged

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 6914
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #253 on: April 21, 2019, 08:57:36 AM »

@ Senentis:  Was your ship count maxed at the fleet cap when you came back for the Legion?  Being at the fleet cap means you automatically skip recovery and go straight to loot or leave.

I have considered recovering the Legions and dumping them in abandoned stations, where they will not be disturbed.  (In theory, I could lose everything in storage if the market they are in is destroyed.  Abandoned stations are indestructible and ignored by NPCs.)  So far, I have left Legion XIVs behind to preserve them.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2019, 08:59:11 AM by Megas »
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 14480
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #254 on: April 21, 2019, 12:03:50 PM »

@ Senentis:  Was your ship count maxed at the fleet cap when you came back for the Legion?  Being at the fleet cap means you automatically skip recovery and go straight to loot or leave.

(That would have to be it, yeah - can't think of another reason why you wouldn't be able to salvage a previously-salvageable ship. Aside from a bug, I suppose!)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 56