Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Painting the Stars (02/07/20); Updated the Forum Rules and Guidelines (02/29/20)

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 15 ... 60

Author Topic: Starsector 0.9.1a (Released) Patch Notes  (Read 149312 times)

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 7760
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #180 on: March 06, 2019, 06:49:04 PM »

Will we get fix/workaround about overlapping debris fields? Mb simple dialogue menu to choose from?
Further to that, can we make "permanent" debris fields disappear from the map once savlaged (or at least no longer treated as debris fields for salvage field overlap)?
I would like stable debris to disappear after they get looted enough.  I had multiple permanent debris fields and nebula is one system that would be a good colony location.  I get slowdown that I normally would not get in most other systems (that normally have less stuff), and it would get much worse if I built up two size 10 colonies there and had frequent fighting between my patrols and enemy invasions.
Logged

Serenitis

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #181 on: March 08, 2019, 01:21:34 PM »

Further to that, can we make "permanent" debris fields disappear from the map once savlaged (or at least no longer treated as debris fields for salvage field overlap)?
Tbh, why do we even need to interact with any debris field more than once?
It just feels like clicking and dialog options for the sake of it.

For maximum streamlining, it would be amazing if a debris field was salvaged in its entirety on the first interaction (with appropriate costs) giving you all of whatever was in said field, then removing it from the game entirely.
Logged

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 7760
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #182 on: March 08, 2019, 01:40:10 PM »

Tbh, why do we even need to interact with any debris field more than once?
It just feels like clicking and dialog options for the sake of it.

For maximum streamlining, it would be amazing if a debris field was salvaged in its entirety on the first interaction (with appropriate costs) giving you all of whatever was in said field, then removing it from the game entirely.
That is even better.  I get annoyed when I need to spam salvage six or seven times to suck every last rare drop dry.  The only reason why I can think of why things as they are is if player has a time limit (deadly Remnant fleets closing in fast and you do not have enough time to salvage field multiple times) or to control crew and machinery loss (you lose less if you salvage less).  Maybe better to have player spend a little time once, then loot everything.
Logged

Blothorn

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #183 on: March 08, 2019, 04:36:58 PM »

The one reason I see to leave them is to allow the player to go back on a decision to only loot once. That said, since the game doesn't give you any help in tracking what you want to come back to, I think lingering debris fields are a strong disincentive to coming back to partially-looted systems--I can't remember what I left behind and spend half my time flying to already-exhausted fields.

I think I would be a lot happier with either binary loot or 2-3 options trading risk vs. salvage quantity, with any of the choices removing it from the map.
Logged

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4854
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #184 on: March 13, 2019, 10:09:12 AM »

I strongly agree with both of the above posts.  I don't mind going over a Debris field twice if the risk / reward feels meaningful, but usually, it ain't, and I totally want Debris fields to go away if I've already hit them twice.
Logged
Please check out my SS projects :)
Xeno's Mod Pack

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2550
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #185 on: March 15, 2019, 06:34:11 AM »

One or two people on Discord reported a bug where carriers (and possibly other ships) disregard rally/defend orders and stick close to the player flagship and/or other combat ships. Is this known/fixed?
(Example screenshot; the white circled ship died in the red circle)

EDIT: Couple more "ships treat orders as suggestions" screenshots from Friends19:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/187635036525166592/556108960927842324/screenshot287.png
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/187635036525166592/556109129928671242/screenshot260.png
Also escorting a retreating ship instead of defaulting to the defend order like I'd have expected: https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/187635036525166592/556109305271812114/screenshot235.png

Unrelated: Is there a minimum value of cargo dropped before the cargo pods can distract pursuing enemies?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2019, 06:41:18 AM by Histidine »
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 16166
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #186 on: March 15, 2019, 11:54:09 AM »

One or two people on Discord reported a bug where carriers (and possibly other ships) disregard rally/defend orders and stick close to the player flagship and/or other combat ships. Is this known/fixed?
(Example screenshot; the white circled ship died in the red circle)

EDIT: Couple more "ships treat orders as suggestions" screenshots from Friends19:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/187635036525166592/556108960927842324/screenshot287.png
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/187635036525166592/556109129928671242/screenshot260.png
Also escorting a retreating ship instead of defaulting to the defend order like I'd have expected: https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/187635036525166592/556109305271812114/screenshot235.png

It's hard to say for sure, but I seem to remember doing some stuff to improve/fix things for these, I *think* after the .9 release. IIRC I ran into both of these myself at some point, but I don't 100% remember exactly what I did. As always, if there's an easy-to-reproduce case, I'd love to take another look.

Unrelated: Is there a minimum value of cargo dropped before the cargo pods can distract pursuing enemies?

Yes - it depends on the enemy fleet. See com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.CargoPodsResponse for details.

(Since a natural follow-up might be that this is hidden from the player etc: in my mind, this is more of a "random neat thing that might happen" than "full-fledged mechanic". Not quite on the order of an easter egg, but almost in that direction.)
Logged

stg7

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #187 on: March 15, 2019, 01:44:09 PM »

If you were to be looting once, A slider would even suffice imo
Logged

StahnAileron

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #188 on: March 15, 2019, 06:44:45 PM »

Alex, regarding the patch note about Stations and Officers:

I know planting an Alpha Core on a station is a pretty large benefit overall to a station and currently the only way to add an "officer" to a station for the player. (Until the next release.) With the change you're proposing, have you ever considered letting the player manually assign an officer from his active fleet to a station?

My thoughts on this would be that doing so would freeze the officer's growth (so no leveling up) while freeing up an officer slot in the fleet. The officer would still count against the player for payroll.

Actually, maybe even increase the payroll cost by some percentage. Managing a station and overseeing/organizing its defense can't be easy. Said officer would essentially be a fleet commander at this point.

And speaking of officers: will there be a better way to manage them? I currently have to open the fleet screen and then click on an officer box to access the officer management screen when I want to review/level my officers. Or am I missing an interface function to directly go to that screen? (Though that screen doubles as the officer assignment screen, which I sometimes dislike as I can easily and readily re-assign officers to ships accidently while trying to manage them.)

I feel like the player character and officer management screens should be integrated somehow. (I'm kinda biased towards your typical party management menu in RPGs and the like, where the player character is just another, if unique, party member.)

I also feel like I should be able to pick an officer and assign a ship to him/her, not just pick a ship and assign an officer. (i.e. I should be able to either match an officer to a ship or a ship to an officer.) This point is something minor, but I find myself more often wanting to give an officer a certain ship rather than give a ship a certain officer.
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 16166
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #189 on: March 15, 2019, 07:42:56 PM »

I know planting an Alpha Core on a station is a pretty large benefit overall to a station and currently the only way to add an "officer" to a station for the player. (Until the next release.) With the change you're proposing, have you ever considered letting the player manually assign an officer from his active fleet to a station?

My thoughts on this would be that doing so would freeze the officer's growth (so no leveling up) while freeing up an officer slot in the fleet. The officer would still count against the player for payroll.

Actually, maybe even increase the payroll cost by some percentage. Managing a station and overseeing/organizing its defense can't be easy. Said officer would essentially be a fleet commander at this point.

This seems like it's more complicated than I really want to get for what role this plays in-game. And if you do that, then next up on the list is customizing station loadouts, and I just don't want to go there. Stations aren't balanced (or even really set up) around being player-fitted. Which to be fair isn't what you're asking! But I think it would flow very naturally from it, so best not to go down that road at all. Plus, being able to stick a level 20 officer on a station (which is equivalent to an Alpha Core) would go against the idea of an Alpha Core being an improvement. Basically, the idea is that cores - especially Alpha - should give you stuff you can't get otherwise.

And speaking of officers: will there be a better way to manage them? I currently have to open the fleet screen and then click on an officer box to access the officer management screen when I want to review/level my officers. Or am I missing an interface function to directly go to that screen? (Though that screen doubles as the officer assignment screen, which I sometimes dislike as I can easily and readily re-assign officers to ships accidently while trying to manage them.)

I feel like the player character and officer management screens should be integrated somehow. (I'm kinda biased towards your typical party management menu in RPGs and the like, where the player character is just another, if unique, party member.)

I also feel like I should be able to pick an officer and assign a ship to him/her, not just pick a ship and assign an officer. (i.e. I should be able to either match an officer to a ship or a ship to an officer.) This point is something minor, but I find myself more often wanting to give an officer a certain ship rather than give a ship a certain officer.

I've got an item for looking at adding some form officer management to the character screen, but, yeah, it's a bit of a low priority, since everything is already functional and it's a bunch of UI work. If I were to do it, it would likely be around the same time as another pass over skills. We'll see!
Logged

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 7760
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #190 on: March 16, 2019, 09:21:06 AM »

And if you do that, then next up on the list is customizing station loadouts, and I just don't want to go there. Stations aren't balanced (or even really set up) around being player-fitted.
I am seriously tempted to not learn the high-tech pack next time I play to force my high-tech station to use plasma cannon or tachyon lance (if I learn those weapons).  High-tech pack does not have much I want that midline pack does not offer - too many good high-tech stuff is not in the pack, but limited to elite blueprints.  In my first game, when tachyon lance was found before the high-tech pack, the station used lances and it was great.  After I learned the high-tech pack, my station refused to use anything other than autopulse regardless of priority settings.

For similar reasons, I do not learn pirate and either ludd packs to avoid corrupting my patrols with those hulls, even though pirate pack has one or two good hulls mixed in with the junk.

I would love a blacklist option to effectively forget blueprints (e.g., do not use if blueprint is marked with red X), and I would like stations to honor priorities as ships do.  It should be a bonus to learn blueprints, not a power-up letdown or poison mushroom that can ruin patrol composition or battlestation loadouts.
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 16166
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #191 on: March 16, 2019, 09:33:10 AM »

I think I've mentioned it when it came up, but: that's a bug in autofit and is fixed for the .1 release.
Logged

eamax

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #192 on: March 23, 2019, 07:34:02 AM »

EDIT: Couple more "ships treat orders as suggestions" screenshots from Friends19:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/187635036525166592/556108960927842324/screenshot287.png

This happened to me too, my Cruiser did this.
I commanded to follow me, after a while he moved away.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2019, 07:38:18 AM by eamax »
Logged

Forux

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #193 on: March 25, 2019, 07:13:30 AM »

Any news when it will be ready for download? =)
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 16166
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9.1a (In-Dev) Patch Notes
« Reply #194 on: March 25, 2019, 07:56:01 AM »

Just as soon as it's ready :) I'm working through the remnants of the TODO list; after that, a bit more playtesting, but it's not too far off all things considered. Did turn into kind of a mammoth .1 release, but, well.

This happened to me too, my Cruiser did this.
I commanded to follow me, after a while he moved away.

I did fix a few related issues for .1, - hopefully it'll help.


Btw, welcome to the forum, to both of you!
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 11 12 [13] 14 15 ... 60