Fractal Softworks Forum
January 19, 2019, 03:26:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Starsector 0.9a is out! (11/16/18)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 84 85 [86] 87
  Print  
Author Topic: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes  (Read 143203 times)
grinningsphinx
Commander
***
Posts: 239


View Profile Email
« Reply #1275 on: January 03, 2019, 07:33:42 PM »

cant you just press F1 when your hovering over the commodity? Be in range of a com sat and it should pull up prices.

That only shows the 5 best places to buy and sell that particular commodity, it doesn't tell anything about the prices in other markets. Maybe the market that has the sixth cheapest fuel prices is right next to you and restocking there would be cheaper, since you don't need to waste fuel and supplies travelling 15 light years to one of the cheaper places. As it is you have no way of knowing that, unless you drop by a market and check the global prices there.

Ah, roger that.
Logged
grinningsphinx
Commander
***
Posts: 239


View Profile Email
« Reply #1276 on: January 03, 2019, 07:36:43 PM »

Will there be any changes to permanent debuffs like Decivilized?  Any dynamic planet modifiers coming online?  Will there ever be terraforming?
Logged
Shoat
Commander
***
Posts: 225


View Profile
« Reply #1277 on: January 06, 2019, 07:22:44 AM »

Will there be any changes to permanent debuffs like Decivilized?

But Decivilized is a mostly positive effect. Gives you a growth bonus. Why would you want it gone?
Logged
The Soldier
Admiral
*****
Posts: 3726


Quartermaster


View Profile
« Reply #1278 on: January 06, 2019, 07:35:39 AM »

But Decivilized is a mostly positive effect. Gives you a growth bonus. Why would you want it gone?
It has a pretty hefty Stability reduction.  And, also roleplay reasons.  Not everything is min-maxing in this world.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2019, 08:55:03 AM by The Soldier » Logged

Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.
TaLaR
Admiral
*****
Posts: 1379


View Profile
« Reply #1279 on: January 06, 2019, 08:30:33 AM »

But Decivilized is a mostly positive effect. Gives you a growth bonus. Why would you want it gone?

It's dwarfed by growth incentives. But -25% habitability always hurts.
Logged
RawCode
Captain
****
Posts: 446


View Profile
« Reply #1280 on: January 06, 2019, 09:07:53 AM »

pollution and decivilized can permanently cripple world, if AI managed to bomb it, as +50 hazard hurts.
Logged
Megas
Admiral
*****
Posts: 5981


View Profile
« Reply #1281 on: January 06, 2019, 10:25:58 AM »

Decivilized simply hurts!

If I see Decivilized on a world I plan to colonize permanently, I will use Birdy's trick to build colony, immediately abandon it to remove Decivilized, then rebuild colony for a clean world without Decivilized.

If I colonize it temporarily because of tech mine or simply need a waystation to draw fuel and supplies from, I leave Decivilized alone since I will abandon it eventually.  Even so, population bonus is annoying when I do not want it to grow.

Decivilized penalties are not worth it for permanent colonies.  -2 stability means it is too hard to maintain 10 stability without bonus from Planetary Operations 3 or unused colony slots (meaning no Free Port), and +25% hazard adds a big bite to upkeep.
Logged
Cosmitz
Admiral
*****
Posts: 697


View Profile
« Reply #1282 on: January 08, 2019, 05:06:46 AM »

Oh wow, i haven't really managed to get in the top endgame, barely engaging my first large (ish) proper fleets, but my game dropped from 60 (63) FPS to 22 at the lowest in a relatively non-extreme battle, vanilla (past chatter and rotary). https://youtu.be/6YcEv1B3I6Y?t=2863 I7 2700k, nothing battering my computer in the background (minus the constant stream) or anything like that. I've had some slumps here and there, but 22 FPS?
« Last Edit: January 08, 2019, 05:32:20 AM by Cosmitz » Logged

Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 13008


View Profile
« Reply #1283 on: January 08, 2019, 09:31:37 AM »

I mean, streaming software has quite an impact, so I can't say anything about what'd be expected or not. Does look like a pretty large battle with lots of fighters, though; how much of the battle size was used/what's your battle size set to?
Logged
Cosmitz
Admiral
*****
Posts: 697


View Profile
« Reply #1284 on: January 08, 2019, 11:08:00 AM »

Starsector defaults, i'm almost as baseline control of a player as you can have. Smiley As to streaming, i max out the FPS on the regular, plus it's NVENC hardware encoding on the GPU side, not the CPU.

LE: In settings i see Battle Size set to 500, though i'm certain i didn't touch it. O.o And SS does a full delete/reinstall of core files each install afaik, so that has to have been changed manually post 0.9a RC10? Blargh.

LE2: Fresh installed on another computer, the Battle size is set to 200. Did a few saves/loades/battles, and it stuck to 200. (also is music supposed to start out as 0% and sound to 100? pushing 'defaults' set them both to 100 and battlesize back to 200, weird but notable).
« Last Edit: January 08, 2019, 11:22:54 AM by Cosmitz » Logged

Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 13008


View Profile
« Reply #1285 on: January 08, 2019, 04:33:47 PM »

LE: In settings i see Battle Size set to 500, though i'm certain i didn't touch it. O.o And SS does a full delete/reinstall of core files each install afaik, so that has to have been changed manually post 0.9a RC10? Blargh.

LE2: Fresh installed on another computer, the Battle size is set to 200. Did a few saves/loades/battles, and it stuck to 200. (also is music supposed to start out as 0% and sound to 100? pushing 'defaults' set them both to 100 and battlesize back to 200, weird but notable).

The settings are in the registry, so they carry over from install to install, generally, unless the new version specifically says they don't.

What this means is 1) you probably did set it to 500 manually at some point, and 2) there's a bug where in 0.9a where the default is 200 where it should be 300.
Logged
StahnAileron
Commander
***
Posts: 167



View Profile
« Reply #1286 on: January 09, 2019, 03:50:59 AM »

Oh wow, i haven't really managed to get in the top endgame, barely engaging my first large (ish) proper fleets, but my game dropped from 60 (63) FPS to 22 at the lowest in a relatively non-extreme battle, vanilla (past chatter and rotary). https://youtu.be/6YcEv1B3I6Y?t=2863 I7 2700k, nothing battering my computer in the background (minus the constant stream) or anything like that. I've had some slumps here and there, but 22 FPS?

I believe the number of fighters/missiles in flight can have a dramatic effect on framerate belying the battle size. I'm on an i4770 with a decent GPU; when I start a fight with 4 Astrals (my forces), the framerate dips a bit when the fighters launch. It gets worse as opposing fighters come into play. And never mind the missile counts. (I have 2x of the large anti-fighter missile racks that fire 40-shot salvos per Astral.)

I've learned to live with it (especially in modded SS), though there was a mod that replaced missile and fighter effects with supposedly more efficient algorithms. No comment on the visual quality as said mod hasn't updated to 0.9a yet (last I checked.) I didn't know of it during the 0.8a era.

I would say avoid large fighter-count battles, but that's nearly impossible with larger fleets.
Logged
Cosmitz
Admiral
*****
Posts: 697


View Profile
« Reply #1287 on: January 09, 2019, 04:06:31 AM »

The settings are in the registry, so they carry over from install to install, generally, unless the new version specifically says they don't.

That explains everything. Including the other computer which had SS at one point installed if i remember right.

Sorry for the bother. Tongue

Quote

I would say avoid large fighter-count battles, but that's nearly impossible with larger fleets.

Will reset battlesize to 300 and see how that goes.
Logged

grinningsphinx
Commander
***
Posts: 239


View Profile Email
« Reply #1288 on: January 16, 2019, 10:47:49 AM »

There needs to be some significant improvements on how the AI handles ships that are backed up against the edge of the screen...roughly 30% of battles come down to the player having to chase ships at the edge of the screen since player AI ships will never properly engage when ships are sitting along the edge.  Its just a constant move in, move back out thing, which shouldnt be happening.
Logged
Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 13008


View Profile
« Reply #1289 on: January 16, 2019, 12:21:44 PM »

(Yeah, already made some tweaks for the .1 release.)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 84 85 [86] 87
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!