Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43] 44 45 ... 87

Author Topic: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes  (Read 304989 times)

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 8524
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #630 on: November 17, 2018, 04:31:19 PM »

* Complaint:  Salvaging 3 often does not give me more rare loot, but instead changes the rare loot I get.  Instead of getting extra on top of the more useful general-purpose packages, those useful packages get replaced by crap like Luddic Church, Luddic Path, and/or Pirates' hack packages.  One time, unskilled found a synchrotron.  Level 3 did not get the synchrotron, but got corrupted nanoforge instead.  In terms of rare loot found, Salvaging 3 looks like a total dud of a skill.  Lower levels may or may not replace loot.

Hmm, you can't just compare the results of two rolls like that. If there's a 1/10 chance to get a Synchroton, and you bump it up to 1.5 out of 10 and re-roll and don't get one (or get something else) that doesn't mean that 1.5 out of 10 is worse than 1 out of 10, if that makes sense.
I would think the synchrotron would appear regardless of skill level, and extra items may or may not appear.  So far, the main effect of the skill is to replace blueprints or other rare items I want with other rare items I do not want as much.  I may or may not get more items.  To use a Diablo II example, it feels like unskilled Salvaging gives me Windforce (elite unique), while level 3 Salvaging gives me one or two among Griswold's Edge, Frostburn, and Nagelring (low level uniques).  Or, rune example, unskilled gives me a Ber rune, while Salvaging 3 gives me Tal, Ral, and Ort for Ancient's Pledge.

I tried about six or so ruined planets or abandoned stations, and all but one time, the rare items simply changed to something else (often Ludd blueprint junk instead of more useful generic blueprints).  I do get more weapons and other vendor trash... which I do not care about (enough to give up three skill points).  I have not explored too much yet, and I still test more locations I find.

However, if I want to max Salvaging, I feel like I can exploit this by looting few of the stashes while unskilled, then max the skill to get what I am guessing what the game thinks is rarer or more valuable stuff to spawn.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 04:36:15 PM by Megas »
Logged

Shoat

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #631 on: November 17, 2018, 04:39:54 PM »

So, little design question here:

You can get a fuel production in a colony that seems to produce 1 fuel per tick for the cost of 1 canister of blue.

The game tells me of a legendary "synchotron" relic that can let you produce fuel out of thin air... but simply installing an AI core onto the fuel production industry will reduce the demand of the fuel production industry to zero and allow infinite free fuel to flow.

So unless the synchotron also does something else on top of making fuel production free (haven't gotten one yet so I can't see for myself), I see very little reason for it to exist.
Logged

DrakonST

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
  • Lizard-Wizard
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #632 on: November 17, 2018, 04:48:11 PM »

Alex, why [REDACTED] station have so small loot after battle?
Spoiler
[close]

And why all another stations dont have officers?
Logged
I a Russian. And i communicate with the help of Promt Translate. And I am a color-blind person.

ArkAngel

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 403
  • The essence of strategy is choosing what not to do
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #633 on: November 17, 2018, 04:54:52 PM »

I had a minor bug where my survey data was worth less then 30 credits. Didn't matter if it was Class V or class I. The price would differ by a few credits, but it didn't seem to do a whole lot. I tried selling it at Jangala, Sindria, Kazeron, no change.
I ended up starting another game, and it worked fine, selling remotely correct credit amounts, but it was weird.

I have to say, I enjoy the mission intel now coming, rather then having to go to mission boards, but at times it can get a tad overwhelming to have six different mission/intel flash by on the left side of the screen. I probably just need to play a bit more to get used to it.
Logged
"Yes... Yes I -am- sending you, alone, unarmed, against the might of the Hegemony defense fleet.  Not to worry - watching how they obliterate your puny frigate will be most... enlightening.  I shall dissect their tactics and emerge victorious!  Any questions? Then get to your ship, you launch in 5."

Thaago

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4852
  • Quantum Mechanic
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #634 on: November 17, 2018, 06:40:51 PM »

Minor bug maybe? If you have 2 colonies in the same system and switch which one has the "orbital works" improvement (ie remove it in one and put it in the other) then your fleet quality no longer registers the improvement at either location.

Also, just ran into
Spoiler
the tier 2 low tech station attempting to shut down a luddic path cell and: AAHHHhhhhhhh!!!
[close]
But in a good way!

I'm enjoying the hell out of this update, thank you so much Alex for making it happen.

[Edit] If I remove the Orbital works on the second planet and then rebuild it, the problem becomes fixed.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 07:46:44 PM by Thaago »
Logged

Sutopia

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #635 on: November 17, 2018, 06:56:25 PM »

Bug report:
When enemy "expedition" fleet destroyed station but failed to compromise the wanted facility, the task force get stuck at the planet, locked state at "traveling" and kill station whenever it respawn. It's quite annoying my star fortress get literally pinned down.
Logged

The Soldier

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3742
  • Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #636 on: November 17, 2018, 07:03:15 PM »

Bug report:
When enemy "expedition" fleet destroyed station but failed to compromise the wanted facility, the task force get stuck at the planet, locked state at "traveling" and kill station whenever it respawn. It's quite annoying my star fortress get literally pinned down.
Just ran into this now, yeah.  Can't really access my colony with 2 Persian League strike fleets and 2 Sindrian Diktat strike fleets (yes, 2 factions decided to attack at the same time...for the 3rd time in a row, that needs to be toned down) hovering around indefinitely, the colony repulsed both attacks successfully but the station was destroyed.  I also made the same mistake of upgrading the station (remotely, while off exploring) a month or two after expecting that the strike fleets were gone, but nope, now that bug has kicked in and my colony has no spaceborne defenses with 4 strike fleets mauling everything that comes out.

That sure as hell put a stopper on any progress I was making.  So much so that I decided to move next door and settle a new colony. :P
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 07:10:56 PM by The Soldier »
Logged
Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.

FooF

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 659
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #637 on: November 17, 2018, 07:26:15 PM »

New Bug:

The Port Tse Franchise battlestation was engaged in combat with the pirate battlestation from across the solar system. I was even able to join the Tri-Tach station and the two stations spawned on top of each other and shot each other.

It was weird.
Logged

DrakonST

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
  • Lizard-Wizard
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #638 on: November 17, 2018, 07:31:30 PM »

New Bug:

The Port Tse Franchise battlestation was engaged in combat with the pirate battlestation from across the solar system. I was even able to join the Tri-Tach station and the two stations spawned on top of each other and shot each other.

It was weird.
Can you give a screenshot? I want see this!
Logged
I a Russian. And i communicate with the help of Promt Translate. And I am a color-blind person.

Dostya

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #639 on: November 17, 2018, 07:33:37 PM »

I have an odd problem with my factions' ship patrols. I've got several planets in system with military bases, and out-system colonies. This is what the patrols look like. One jump point of three has a fleet nearby sometimes, the other planets are undefended, and hyperspace gets maybe one fleet on an extremely inconsistent basis. Merchants are periodically cut to ribbons nearby, is there a way for me to goose my faction's fleets out of my homeworld's orbitals?

Spoiler
[close]
Logged

DrakonST

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
  • Lizard-Wizard
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #640 on: November 17, 2018, 08:03:19 PM »

After more than 24hours of play i want say something - i really dont love new sale bar mechanism. (i talk about thing on screenshot)
Spoiler
[close]

It seems more illogically and less convenient than old. Especially during the work with small quantity. Why need to put 50% in this bar if i want to sell 10% of things? And Why after 70% bar progress i sell much bigger amounts of things? Maybe you can put on "settings.json" parameter like "Use legacy sale bar"?

Much better when 10% bar progress sell 10% of goods.

Only this thing was not pleasant to me in this patch. Excepting bugs.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 08:08:59 PM by DrakonST »
Logged
I a Russian. And i communicate with the help of Promt Translate. And I am a color-blind person.

Kirschbra

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #641 on: November 17, 2018, 09:23:53 PM »

NO! NO!!!! I'm having some kind of issue downloading this whats going on
Logged

Kirschbra

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #642 on: November 17, 2018, 09:25:11 PM »

nevermind
Logged

SafariJohn

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1835
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #643 on: November 17, 2018, 11:17:39 PM »

Alright, I've basically played through a whole game (~4.5 cycles). Have a 31.5k defense, size 7 (and growing) jungle colony that is the top supplier for almost everything it produces (>150% accessibility), and 3 other colonies besides. I'm not even using any AI cores. (Well, one gamma on the 7's pop, but that hardly counts.) There's still some stuff I haven't done, but meh, no point besides doing it to do it.

On a side note, had fun exploring the fringe with an Afflictor and 2 Harbingers - turns out Harbingers don't make half-bad phase tankers. With limited fuel and supplies, and the high cost of recovering CR, whether to storm glide or not was a real judgment call.


Colony feedback:
Vast ruins seems terribly powerful. Once I colonized the planet and got a tech mining industry up I basically never had to worry about money again. Tech mining in general just gives you everything right away. Supplies, fuel, and heavy machinery AND money, weapons, and blueprints!? Crazy!

I think the fuel is what makes tech mining so good. Metal, supplies, and heavy machinery on my world currently provide about 63k credits from exports, whereas fuel provides 57k credits. That's all just from the tech mining, there's no refinery, heavy industry, or fuel production on this world. And besides the income you can use the fuel yourself of course, which is a huge boon early on.

Moving on, [REDACTED] looks great, but I prefer the view unobstructed. Maybe make it blue for player colonies and way more transparent?

Light industry seems to have too high of an upkeep. With 150% accessibility, size 7, I'm only making like 37k credits off of domestic and luxury goods combined, but LI has an upkeep of 40k (50k after hazard).

The midline tier 1 orbital station seems much weaker than the low tech one. Didn't fight a high tech one for comparison, though. Didn't fight the other tiers enough to get a good judge on them, though it is clear the AI has no idea how to fight a station (big surprise :P)


Getting away from colonies a bit, it still seems like there are a ton of frigates in every fleet. Related: when I was fiddling with my faction's doctrine the difference between size focus 4 and 5 was huge compared to 3 and 4.


Unlike Drakon, I like the new sale bar mechanism. Much more convenient and made perfect sense to me.


To end on a positive note, it's great to see lots of ships on the open markets. They were quite bare before.
Logged

SCC

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2123
    • View Profile
Re: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes
« Reply #644 on: November 18, 2018, 01:47:24 AM »

Sindrian Diktat sent two bully fleets to my colony, but only one showed up. Also that's how I learned that the game holds no punches and you basically shouldn't make a colony at all, unless you can build heavy industry, patrol HQ and space station all at once (and afford that), otherwise you're getting shat all over. Space port raid seems a little too strong, since it basically affects everything, to the point that my colony went from ~100k profits per month, to -40k deficit, for 4 months! And I lost my entire growth progress. The worst part is that I didn't expect that at all and I had to cannibilise and luck my way into not dying. Duration bar doesn't move at all, until the month the disruption fades.
Also there's way too many storms. There's no decision to take, you just clench your teeth and power through. Detours take a lot of time and make you waste your fuel.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2018, 01:58:33 AM by SCC »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 41 42 [43] 44 45 ... 87