Fractal Softworks Forum
December 13, 2018, 02:01:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Starsector 0.9a is out! (11/16/18)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 40 41 [42] 43 44 ... 82
  Print  
Author Topic: Starsector 0.9a (Released) Patch Notes  (Read 119320 times)
Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 12740


View Profile
« Reply #615 on: November 17, 2018, 12:24:25 PM »

Hotfix is up! Mainly for the autofit related campaign crash.

http://fractalsoftworks.com/2018/11/16/starsector-0-9a-release/
Logged
The Soldier
Admiral
*****
Posts: 3710


Quartermaster


View Profile
« Reply #616 on: November 17, 2018, 12:36:20 PM »

Hmm - variety is the spice of life, no? I think this is more of an interesting/weird thing to happen rather than a bad thing.
I mean, when I clearly have the superior force but can't win the battle in any meaningful way because I just don't have enough time to destroy all those fast, teleporting REDACTED just turns that battle into a save-scum fest.  The return trip was genuinely interesting, as I had to make some tough decisions on if I wanted to scuttle any ships for fuel and supplies, and I did end up scuttling two of them.  I also decided to use Hyperspace Storm Surfing to improve my fuel efficiency on the way back (as my ships were already on the brink) and still ran out of fuel a little ways away from the nearest civilized system.  Was tense and exciting.  But the battle?  Disappointing and frustrating.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 12:39:38 PM by The Soldier » Logged

Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.
Troll
Ensign
*
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #617 on: November 17, 2018, 12:39:18 PM »

Congrats on the big update Alex. It feels like relearning parts of the game with how much has been added / changed.
I took the Apogee start to get quickly get a feel of the colony system (and surveying in general, since I never played a surveyor game). It's great how it quickly throws the player in the late early game but might be confusing for new players. It's a great ship choice in any case since it has the bonuses, is sturdy and yet not too powerful for the start.

I colonized a system very early and managed to upgrade it a lot even though I didn't properly manage my stability and was raided early on.
It was a sector north-east of the core one, with 2 planets of 3 (barren) with medium and large ruins specifically. I felt like I was a prospector from the Cosmic Computer uncovering caches from the war with my Tech Mines  Wink
All my money went in it and it soon became a prime fuel (hail to the synchroton) and metals exporter and thus was I doomed.
I was raided all the time, and my still infant but overly teched colony was becoming a nightmare.

The 1st raid took down the Fuel factory, the 2nd the Tech mine.
The 3rd raid by both the Dictat and League took down the Megaport for a full year.
After a few month of learning and trying to survive without it, I was 700 000 credits in debt. By then I decided to sell almost everything of the colony and see what would work. It works somewhat, but it's a lot of lost time.

tl,dr : Be strong before you try to be the economic powerhouse the others don't want you to be.

Logged
Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 12740


View Profile
« Reply #618 on: November 17, 2018, 12:48:09 PM »

I mean, when I clearly have the superior force but can't win the battle in any meaningful way because I just don't have enough time to destroy all those fast, teleporting REDACTED just turns that battle into a save-scum fest.

Seems like a legitimate use of a "deploy a ship or two, wear them out, deploy mop-up force" tactic, since it'd be so fast. But perhaps I'm underestimating the impact of the event horizon. Still, a minute seems like it ought to be enough time for a superior fleet to clean out 0-cr enemies. Honestly, I hear what you're saying, but I'd really have to see it for myself.


Congrats on the big update Alex.

Thank you!


It feels like relearning parts of the game with how much has been added / changed.
I took the Apogee start to get quickly get a feel of the colony system (and surveying in general, since I never played a surveyor game). It's great how it quickly throws the player in the late early game but might be confusing for new players. It's a great ship choice in any case since it has the bonuses, is sturdy and yet not too powerful for the start.

I colonized a system very early and managed to upgrade it a lot even though I didn't properly manage my stability and was raided early on.
It was a sector north-east of the core one, with 2 planets of 3 (barren) with medium and large ruins specifically. I felt like I was a prospector from the Cosmic Computer uncovering caches from the war with my Tech Mines  Wink
All my money went in it and it soon became a prime fuel (hail to the synchroton) and metals exporter and thus was I doomed.
I was raided all the time, and my still infant but overly teched colony was becoming a nightmare.

The 1st raid took down the Fuel factory, the 2nd the Tech mine.
The 3rd raid by both the Dictat and League took down the Megaport for a full year.
After a few month of learning and trying to survive without it, I was 700 000 credits in debt. By then I decided to sell almost everything of the colony and see what would work. It works somewhat, but it's a lot of lost time.

tl,dr : Be strong before you try to be the economic powerhouse the others don't want you to be.

Ahh, yeah. In retrospect, probably should've cut the losses before going that far into the red, but that's a tough choice to make. At least you've still got the Synchrotron!
Logged
Troll
Ensign
*
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #619 on: November 17, 2018, 12:56:32 PM »

Ahh, yeah. In retrospect, probably should've cut the losses before going that far into the red, but that's a tough choice to make. At least you've still got the Synchrotron!

'twas all in the name of science.
To see how far one can go and still rebound. My answer was, not very far.
Logged
SpaceMonster
Ensign
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #620 on: November 17, 2018, 01:51:07 PM »

I noticed a black hole that was marked as "Unsurveyed". If I clicked on it action '1' was survey, but it was greyed out. Methinks those shouldn't even be surveyable in the first place.

The custom production tab should show storage amounts of the items (well, storage of the gathering point).
Too many times I've taken a look at it an wondered how many X I have and what I need more of. I have to go to the planet, check storage, and try to remember what's needed as I go back and forth between screens.

On that point, I'd love a way to remotely view the storage contents of a colony.

PS: Thanks for keeping me up till 4am yesterday.  Tongue
Logged
Ranakastrasz
Admiral
*****
Posts: 561


Prince Corwin of Amber


View Profile
« Reply #621 on: November 17, 2018, 02:06:12 PM »

I noticed a black hole that was marked as "Unsurveyed". If I clicked on it action '1' was survey, but it was greyed out. Methinks those shouldn't even be surveyable in the first place.


Whats wrong with surveying a black hole? You can fit a lot of stuff in there.
Logged

I think is easy for Simba and Mufasa sing the Circle of Life when they're on the top of the food chain, I bet the zebras hate that song.

Cigarettes are a lot like hamsters. Perfectly harmless, until you put one in your mouth and light it on fire
The Soldier
Admiral
*****
Posts: 3710


Quartermaster


View Profile
« Reply #622 on: November 17, 2018, 02:35:40 PM »

So, I just had an...incident with an Alpha AI Core.  Alex will know what it means. Smiley Spoiler territory ahead!  As well as feedback on ensuing incidents.

So, having put an Alpha AI Core as the head of my first colony because I couldn't afford to use an administrator (and I hadn't any of the skills to improve player colony management), this core eventually got cozy and refused to leave.  Blackmailed me to keep it there on threat of revealing I was using AI Cores to the sector.  So of course I left it there grudgingly, but I wanted it out.

So a couple of cycles later, the Hegemony caught up the idea that there might not be a human running that colony and sent an Inspection Fleet.  Seeing a prime opportunity to get rid of that pesky Alpha core, I let them go in and take the cores away.  However, a funny thing I noticed is that if I try to remove the core, it gets offended and goes into hiding to strike out at another time (the consequences of which I haven't explored), but the Hegemony Inspection Fleet seems to have no problems finding it and doesn't result in the "Rogue AI Core" negative trait the colony gets.  Works fine for me.

The one thing I'm concerned with is the Inspection Fleet absolutely ravages the entire colony, and not just the facilities that had AI Cores in them.  There wasn't a single facility in my colony that wasn't disrupted for more than 120 days, most of them at 245 days.  This is absolutely worse than anything else the game can throw at you, and there's the one upside to getting rid of that pesky AI core is hardly worth the effort.  The force is within legal bounds, meaning you can't fight back without incurring massive penalties.  Bribing the force off / using political clout is the ONLY remotely reasonable way to deal with this - you can't remove AI cores to hide them - the end result won't change - and it won't even get rid of the "Rogue AI Core" trait if you removed the Alpha Core previously.  In fact, compared to the damage this can do, bribing off the force is more than worth the cost that would be incurred if they found the cores in the first place - I would go into a death spiral of -312,000 credits a month if I let this event play through.

I'd suggest some changes to this.  Compared to other expedition / raid events, this is a shotgun blast rather than a pinpoint target like raiding is.  If all the facilities are going to be disrupted, it can't be for more than 15 days at the very most (searching is hardly equivalent to damaging and disrupting the facility as in raids, which for reason reason it has even more of an impact than).  30 for those facilities that did have cores in them, to be fair.  This puts this event back in line, where it should be.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 02:49:54 PM by The Soldier » Logged

Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.
Volfgarix
Ensign
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #623 on: November 17, 2018, 02:37:18 PM »

I was caught near Kanta's Den by small fleet of pirates, at first I thought I would be fine because the station cannot chase me and small pirate fleet won't do much alone against me.
Boom, turns out I had to lose few ships to be able to walk away from stationary threat.

There is a bug(?) that seems to be from at least 0.8 version - when you run out of fuel in hyperspace and start drifting towards star, you can slow down by going dark. It seems like you can drift slower in the river if turn out lights on ship. It's not something critical, but sorts of bother me.

Besides that, everything is alright so far, the new mission system is fun and at last I can get some decent trade info. The news about valuable convoys is neat as well, previously I had to chase around for non-indie trade fleets and count for luck.
Still didn't get to the colony stuff, still getting resources for that.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 02:51:57 PM by Volfgarix » Logged
DrakonST
Captain
****
Posts: 292


Lizard-Wizard


View Profile
« Reply #624 on: November 17, 2018, 02:39:40 PM »



When it can be fixed?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And Alex, multiple enemy strike fleets it normal? Or it bug?
Or this? Then more i play then more big everything...
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 02:43:02 PM by DrakonST » Logged

I a Russian. And i communicate with the help of Promt Translate. And I am a color-blind person.
Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 12740


View Profile
« Reply #625 on: November 17, 2018, 02:51:57 PM »

@TheSoldier:
(Let's just say there's a different outcome if you don't try to outsmart them by hiding the cores they're expecting to find!)

When it can be fixed?

For the .1 release, whenever that is. While it's silly, it's also very minor Smiley

And Alex, multiple enemy strike fleets it normal? Or it bug?

Normal! Subsequent expeditions get bigger and bigger, to a point.

Got caught near Kanta's Den by small fleet of pirates, at first I thought I would be fine because the station cannot chase me and small pirate fleet won't do much alone against me.
Boom, turns out I had to lose few ships to be able to walk away from stationary threat.

Yeah, that bit is definitely a bit awkward.
Logged
orost
Captain
****
Posts: 430


View Profile
« Reply #626 on: November 17, 2018, 02:57:21 PM »

I have a colony now, and also some feedback.

* I don't really get some things about colony economy. I have a couple Gamma AI cores, and I tried installing them, but reducing demand for commodities seems to have no effect on the bottom line, even if it reduces how much of them the colony needs to import. Do imports not cost the colony at all? In fact, if installing a gamma core does anything at all, it is to decrease the net income slightly, which I don't understand at all.
* I ended up in a situation where I was out of supplies at my own colony, sucking them up from stockpile as they trickled in, waiting to very slowly accumulate enough to make a trip somewhere to buy them. I felt a bit ridiculous, considering I was hovering over a supplies factory *and* a spaceport capable of importing supplies, both of which I owned. I would love a way to tap more deeply into a colony's resources if necessary, even if it has negative effects.
* My colony was raided by a pirate force. The only effect of that I can see is -1 stability, and I *presume* this is because the force was small and the colony had ground defenses, so the raid was not very successful. But I don't know. Some feedback here would be welcome.
* Something minor, but maybe it shouldn't happen: I got into a fight with repairs suspended. I lost one ship in it, and recovered it. Instantly after the battle, before I could do anything at all like resume repairs, an accident triggered, destroying the ship.
* While exploring, sometimes I want to suspend repairs to save supplies. This is problematic in this version because at any time a storm hit can drop a ship to 0% CR, which is an inconvenience with repairs on but a danger with them off. So if I have repairs off, every single time I take a storm bump I have to into the fleet screen, scan to see if anything is down to 0, if it is unsuspend repairs on it, then remember to suspend them back a moment later once it's above 10%. It gets old. I would love an option like "essential maintenance only", that spends enough supplies to prevent accidents but no more, or perhaps just make suspending repairs work that way - I don't see myself ever choosing to not do that.

Now that I'm done complaining, let me just say that the update is fantastic and I enjoy it very much!
Logged
The Soldier
Admiral
*****
Posts: 3710


Quartermaster


View Profile
« Reply #627 on: November 17, 2018, 03:06:59 PM »

Regarding my Alpha Core incident:
I suppose that works.  Nothing bad at all happens - cores are expendable and my wallet is not, and that damnable Alpha Core is also gone without any side effects.  I can swap out Betas for Gammas without them being the wiser, but the effects of attempting to hide them are still far too severe.  This is the first time I've ran into that inspection event, and with my colony being so far along the consequences were massive.  I also do suggest having the Inspection remove any Rogue Alpha Core as well for the sake of being consistent - the rumor mill does start about the rogue Alpha Core after all, according to the description.

EDIT:
So, something I've noticed.  A Pirate base keeps on getting rebuilt in a system literally right next to my colony.  I've totally destroyed it 3 times, making sure to wipe out the rest of the pirate presence in the system, but it keeps on getting rebuilt every few months.  Now it's cropped up again for a 4th time.  Is that intended?  Honestly it's starting to mundane.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2018, 03:30:15 PM by The Soldier » Logged

Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.
FooF
Captain
****
Posts: 367


View Profile Email
« Reply #628 on: November 17, 2018, 03:29:10 PM »

So...I have 3 colonies, a High Command on one of them, major fleet patrols and a booming economy the rest of the Sector keeps trying to tear down.

But, I still have no idea how to use the "Orders" tab under Command. What am I missing?
Logged
Shoat
Commander
***
Posts: 224


View Profile
« Reply #629 on: November 17, 2018, 03:46:41 PM »

So... when my colony grew from size 3 to size 4, it suddenly required like 314 quadrillion consumer goods every month. I assume this has something to do with having had an AI core installed to the base colony thing (reduces required goods by 1) and the whole thing underflowing.

Restarting the game seems to have fixed it (I forgot to make a screenshot to show here, so i booted the game up again and saw it was fixed), but you obviously need to know about stuff like this.

I am, however, now stuck with an absurdly huge debt because I left "fix deficits from stockpile" on and my colony apparently just bought all those 314 quadrillion consumer goods from the internet and paid with my credit card. I might have to get the console commands mod and fix that manually.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 40 41 [42] 43 44 ... 82
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!