Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.7.0  (Read 234393 times)

Bizzledorf

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.5.2
« Reply #30 on: August 10, 2019, 04:16:28 PM »

Sorry to necro this thread, but I can't for the life of me get this to work. 

I enabled it and this is what I tried so far:
  • middle mouse doesn't do anything
  • caps lock doesn't do anything
  • shift + caps lock
  • shift + middle mouse
  • frantically hitting a combination of the above gets to get something to happen
  • changing the keys in the SPEED_UP.ini
  • installing a bunch of library mods (lazylib, graphicslib, etc)

There has to be something obvious I'm missing, but I can't figure it out.
Logged

SapphireSage

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.5.2
« Reply #31 on: August 10, 2019, 09:43:46 PM »

Step 1) Put the unzipped folder "SpeedUp" in the Starsector/mods folder.
Step 2) In the game launcher, clicked on mods on the bottom and made sure there was a blue square next to the SpeedUp mod.

Just to be certain you've done both of those correct? And you're trying to use it only in combat? SpeedUp only works in combat.
Logged

Bizzledorf

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.5.2
« Reply #32 on: August 11, 2019, 04:24:51 AM »

Step 1) Put the unzipped folder "SpeedUp" in the Starsector/mods folder.
Step 2) In the game launcher, clicked on mods on the bottom and made sure there was a blue square next to the SpeedUp mod.

Just to be certain you've done both of those correct? And you're trying to use it only in combat? SpeedUp only works in combat.
OH!  I was trying to use it to speed up the campaign!  Thanks.
Logged

Count Zero Interrupt

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.5.2
« Reply #33 on: September 03, 2019, 07:37:18 AM »

When I try to extract the zip file I keep getting an error. It doesn't look like there any files in the zip according to Winzip. I downloaded multiple times but get the same outcome. What could be wrong?
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.5.2
« Reply #34 on: September 07, 2019, 12:18:57 PM »

It is a 7-zip file, not a plain zip file.  Winzip will not extract it.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
[0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.0
« Reply #35 on: September 08, 2019, 12:14:46 AM »

AKA the update that made phase ships fun again.


We also recommend Version Checker to notify you when an update is ready.

Version 0.6.0:
- Minor optimization
- Added option to disable bullet-time effects (such as phase slow-down)
  * Default toggle: B
Logged

creature

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9a] SpeedUp 0.5.1
« Reply #36 on: November 08, 2019, 06:16:41 PM »

forgive me, i am old and for the life of me i cannot figure out how to get one of the keys to toggle rather than holding it down...can someone please give me a simple step by step on how it works...please and thank you...
I can do toggle via capslock. But its behavior is strange if you're viewing a camera (F). But you can hear the SFX with a message on the top left so it should be easy to know if you did it right.
Logged

Da5id

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.0
« Reply #37 on: July 10, 2020, 06:42:45 PM »

The update check at sc2mafia is failing!
Logged

ApolloStarsector

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.0
« Reply #38 on: July 10, 2020, 11:40:10 PM »

Preserving the fidelity of the simulation:

People say that the minimum is 30 FPS, otherwise the simulation will be degraded. However, shouldn't that be 30 FPS of normalized game-time? In other words, if running the game at 4x speed, shouldn't the minimum FPS be 120?
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.0
« Reply #39 on: July 11, 2020, 12:13:13 AM »

That's correct.  The game needs to be running at a raw 120 FPS to have a 1/30 simulation step at 4x time scaling.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
[0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.1
« Reply #40 on: July 11, 2020, 12:19:56 AM »

Moving the version file.


We also recommend Version Checker to notify you when an update is ready.

Version 0.6.1:
- Migrated version file to BitBucket
« Last Edit: July 11, 2020, 04:09:42 AM by Dark.Revenant »
Logged

ApolloStarsector

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.1
« Reply #41 on: July 19, 2020, 10:25:36 AM »

I wonder if the total number of concurrent sounds, when using a high speed up multiplier, results in a significant performance impact. I tried searching for how to adjust the maximum sound channels in starsector (including in the config files), and I found nothing. Do you think that this is a possible area where performance is being lost, and do you have any ideas how one might potentially adjust it? No worries if this is out of your wheelhouse.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.1
« Reply #42 on: July 19, 2020, 03:22:41 PM »

Quote
   "maxFXSources":128,
   "maxUISources":20,

From /data/config/settings.json
Logged

ApolloStarsector

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.1
« Reply #43 on: July 21, 2020, 03:23:48 PM »

Thank you! My hero.
Logged

Neitronus

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] SpeedUp 0.6.1
« Reply #44 on: September 23, 2020, 08:46:35 AM »

You might already associate my name with some kind of plague at this point, but I came here to tell you about our lordship bitbucket, which ruined version checker.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4