Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Painting the Stars (02/07/20); Updated the Forum Rules and Guidelines (02/29/20)

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12]

Author Topic: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla  (Read 113340 times)

Zoro89

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #165 on: December 28, 2019, 02:36:23 AM »

You mentioned that you removed the cluster launcher, does this mean it will be incompatible with previous save files?

I think it's incompatible. I got error if I load the save game with the new version. So I will use this version for next new game.
Logged

dis astranagant

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #166 on: January 15, 2020, 07:10:16 PM »

Got this on startup

Logged

mora

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #167 on: January 17, 2020, 08:41:41 AM »

A few descriptions have errors:
The Triumph uses some weird double quotations that causes the game to cut it off there. Re-typing the quotations myself fixed it so maybe it has something to do with your OS and your keyboard/input settings. Maybe use single quotations to be safe?
Every single occurrence of the word "AI wars" is mistakenly written as "IA wars".
The Era (LC) has a typo where the word version is missing it's n.
Tri-Tachyon is spelled Try-Tachyon in the description of the Arbitrator.
Plasma cannon is spelled plasma canon in the description of the plasma caster.
The Charon also has an error where a placeholder (...) is in the place of its name.
The Cossack has a typo where the word true is missing its last letter e.

And something else i'd like to say is that there is another cruiser with the name "Zenith" over at the Ship and Weapon pack mod. While not really a problem, I have came up with a better name for your Zenith. Since your version is based on the Apogee... why not name it Apozee? It inherits the letter Z from its former name while merging it together with the base hull, and makes the ship appear right under the Apogee in the codex.

EDIT:I will attach my CSV which I've fixed some typos and some grammar and wording that didn't make sense to me. I am also not a native english speaker so I may have made some text worse which I hope not.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2020, 10:03:22 AM by mora »
Logged

Hrothgar

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #168 on: January 17, 2020, 12:24:07 PM »

Or mayby Pinnacle, if we want to use synonym.
Logged

BringerofBabies

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #169 on: January 17, 2020, 01:31:54 PM »

Apotheosis would have the benefits of adjacency and also being a related term, but there are a ton of fun words to mean "the highest point" or "the best".

That said, refresh my memory one what the SWP Zenith is? I play with both (when I last had time to play, that is), but only remember the Apogee based Zenith.
Logged

AxleMC131

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1602
  • Amateur World-Builder
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #170 on: January 17, 2020, 01:33:27 PM »

That said, refresh my memory one what the SWP Zenith is? I play with both (when I last had time to play, that is), but only remember the Apogee based Zenith.

High-tech cruiser.



MajorTheRed has been pretty good at ignoring advice to change ship names to avoid collisions with other mods... :P With all due respect, it would be nice to see that change.
Logged

MajorTheRed

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #171 on: January 17, 2020, 10:03:55 PM »

That's a bit unfair  :-[, since most duplicated names seems to be related to later mods ( Vayra split mods) or out-of-date ones (Knights Templar). But I may be mistaken. Bye the way I don't know who took the effort of putting SGM names in the common file, but a big thank you to him. The Zenith is clearly a miss from my part, I was indeed told about it but then this problem got buried under other stuff.... For the others, since I'm only playing a few mods I'm only paying attention to those ones (which doesn't include Ship and Weapons Pack). I will put them on my update list but to be fair I will wait for the next update to work on the mod.

Many thanks mora for the typos, I will include them
Logged

AxleMC131

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1602
  • Amateur World-Builder
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #172 on: January 18, 2020, 02:07:32 AM »

My apologies Major, I didn't mean to offend. Regardless, whether a mod is outdated or not, it's good practise to leave the name to that mod as authors do come back to things. Knights Templar we know is not discontinued, it'll be back in time. And I still have the name Triumph from The Silent Armada set aside for its potential revitalizing.
Logged

Gear

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #173 on: January 22, 2020, 11:07:01 AM »

Hey I just wanted to confirm,the Copernic (A) Doesn't have the survey and solar shielding hullmods, is that intended?
Logged

MajorTheRed

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #174 on: January 23, 2020, 05:25:20 AM »

My apologies Major, I didn't mean to offend. Regardless, whether a mod is outdated or not, it's good practise to leave the name to that mod as authors do come back to things. Knights Templar we know is not discontinued, it'll be back in time. And I still have the name Triumph from The Silent Armada set aside for its potential revitalizing.

OK, thanks for this precisions, I will made the adjustements :)

Hey I just wanted to confirm,the Copernic (A) Doesn't have the survey and solar shielding hullmods, is that intended?

Yes it's intended, it's more a second-line destroyer since it got a few more OP to spend on weapons and flux. Maybe I can add a sentence to precise this in its description.
Logged

Snrasha

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #175 on: March 09, 2020, 07:28:12 AM »

Question when i have looked the "Already used names", not issue when you use name from a 0.8 mod, i think, but you use already name about 2 from Knight Templar (ok, 0.8, but certainly will be updated someday and from DR) and you use Minos from Shadowyard. Maybe you have forget to update the name of them on the google spreadsheets? x)
Logged
I am pretty bad on english. So, sorry in advance.

Gladiator Society
Add battle options on Com Relay/ Framework for modders for add their own bounty.

Artefact
Two weird faction.

Sanguinary Anarchistic Defectors A fan-mod of Shadowyard.

MajorTheRed

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Stop Gap Measure - Ships for Vanilla
« Reply #176 on: March 09, 2020, 07:55:04 AM »

Question when i have looked the "Already used names", not issue when you use name from a 0.8 mod, i think, but you use already name about 2 from Knight Templar (ok, 0.8, but certainly will be updated someday and from DR) and you use Minos from Shadowyard. Maybe you have forget to update the name of them on the google spreadsheets? x)

Well, it's someone else who updated the google spreadsheets  :-[ I never did it (and my thanks to him, by the way!). But yeah, next time Alex put a new release and I dive again in Starsector, name conflicts are on the top of the to-do list for the next SGM update.

Oh, and maybe for the record, I never really felt that people where using SGM, never got so much feed back in the beginning. So I never had the impression other players had problems with name conflicts since I was wondering at that time if any player was really using SGM (yeah it may sound silly).
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12]