Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Author Topic: Hello, questions before purchase  (Read 2512 times)

jager

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Hello, questions before purchase
« on: November 21, 2017, 06:09:18 PM »

Hello, I've accidentally stumbled upon this game and it appears to be quite good as it reminds me of mount and blade in someway. However, how frequent are the updates and will the launcher automatically download them or will I have to manually acquire the files from a message sent to my email? Also, is there a eta on a possible steam release or if there is going to be a steam release anytime soon? Sorry if I confused the thread, I'm new to these types of forums outside of steam. Thanks.

TheBawkHawk

• Lieutenant
    • View Profile
Re: Hello, questions before purchase
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 06:17:12 PM »

Hello, and welcome to the community!

The (major) updates aren't exactly frequent, but they are extremely well done. They usually bring some massive rework or completely new system to the game, are usually bug free (and if they do have bugs, they are all patched out a few days after discovery). The launcher will not automatically download updates (I think). To install the update, simply just download the launcher and re-install the game. Alex (the dev) has stated that he doesn't feel comfortable releasing the game on steam until he feels that it's ready (near or at the final version). So it is on the radar as something he wants to do, just not until he feels that the game is ready.

jager

• Ensign
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 06:25:26 PM »