Fractal Softworks Forum
September 26, 2018, 06:45:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: New blog post: Salvaging Mechanics Update (09/06/18); In-dev patch notes for Starsector 0.9a (06/01/18);Starsector 0.8.1a is out!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hotkey change combat speed  (Read 803 times)
Bastion.Systems
Captain
****
Posts: 315


Special Circumstances LCU


View Profile Email
« on: August 11, 2017, 02:13:51 PM »

Saw FallenShogun do something like that while streaming the tournament. Does anyone know how to to set this up, would really save some time in the battle mopup phase.
Logged
Midnight Kitsune
Admiral
*****
Posts: 2312


Your Friendly Forum Friend


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2017, 02:22:58 PM »

Saw FallenShogun do something like that while streaming the tournament. Does anyone know how to to set this up, would really save some time in the battle mopup phase.
I think it uses the phase time stuff but I'm not sure. And from what I think I remember Alex saying, it can make the game unstable
Logged

Stop trying to balance the game around a few minmaxers...
Programming is like sex:
One mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life.

Tired of having your game crash because of out of date mods? Then click here!
Get Version Checker today! Now with 90% less hassle! Simply toss it into your mod folder, activate the mod like a normal one and BINGO you will now be informed of any and all updates when you start SS campaign up!
Bastion.Systems
Captain
****
Posts: 315


Special Circumstances LCU


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2017, 02:26:54 PM »

If it didn't crash during the tournament, I am willing to try.
 Hey I play modded STALKER, I am pretty used to occasional CTD's Grin.
Logged
Megas
Admiral
*****
Posts: 5100


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2017, 03:13:35 PM »

Things feels different once game speed exceeds 2f.  I would prefer to set game speed to 2.5f or even 3f, but sounds do not always play at the expected time and at 3f or higher, animations like venting simply do not look right.

On the other hand, I cannot tolerate playing at the default of 1f - it is far too slow.  2f feels much better, but even then, much of the game is still a bit slow-paced for my liking (aside from Hyperion vs. Hyperion or Afflictor duels) even at double speed.


On an somewhat unrelated note, Endless Sky was recently updated to 0.9.7, and added a Caps Lock toggle for 3x speed (mainly to speed up travel).  The game is much more fun at triple speed, although late in the game after a build-up a giant fleet, the slowdown from so many objects simply offsets the time shift.  Needless to say, I set the game at triple speed and leave it on at nearly all times.
Logged
Ranakastrasz
Admiral
*****
Posts: 541


Prince Corwin of Amber


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2017, 04:10:02 PM »

I actually tried a higher speed, and eventually projectiles start phasing through shields instead of impacting them.

I've seen that happen in my own projectile code in a few project's i've worked on, but if you use a line-trace, I really don't see how this could happen.
Logged

I think is easy for Simba and Mufasa sing the Circle of Life when they're on the top of the food chain, I bet the zebras hate that song.

Cigarettes are a lot like hamsters. Perfectly harmless, until you put one in your mouth and light it on fire
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!