Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: SS Modding Tutorial: Basic Rules.csv and Market Allegience Change  (Read 10127 times)

Thaago

• Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • Harpoon Affectionado
    • View Profile

Hi everyone. As part of getting back into modding SS I’ve decided to write up tutorials of what I’m doing. The mod is attached in this post and does one small thing: it adds a menu option to all planets that have markets that will change their allegiance to the Hegemony. Going through the mod should teach the basics of how the rules.csv system works, how to write a script that is called from rules.csv, and what the basic structure of markets is in SS.

Full disclosure: the script that changes the faction is heavily based on (ie only mildly edited to remove extra parts) code from Nexelerin, which I’m studying to learn how to do things. So thanks to Histidine, Zaphide before him, and the rest of the mod mafia for creating excellent mods for me to pore over and learn from.

Here is the first Tutorial: Tutorial #1!

Questions, comments, and requests are welcome. :)

[attachment deleted by admin]

Ryxsen1421

• Captain
    • View Profile
    • Twitter
Re: SS Modding Tutorial: Basic Rules.csv and Market Allegience Change
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2017, 09:33:20 AM »

Thanks for sharing your techniques. I'll be sure to check it up and hopefully know a thing or two at the end.

Morrokain

• Admiral
  • Megalith Dreadnought - Archean Order
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2017, 01:15:26 PM »

Hey I was just coming here to get some info on rules.csv. Thanks!

Finally ready to dive into those waters!

EZ faction has all my factions in the campaign but in order for their backstory to be authentic and immersive I have to break into rules.csv for custom interactions and flavor dialogue.

Question: