Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Crash when entering a specific mod system  (Read 2237 times)

SainnQ

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Crash when entering a specific mod system
« on: May 26, 2017, 07:35:40 PM »

So I decided to tinker with my copy of the most recent .8a Compatible build of Dessault Mikoyan Engineering.

I'd changed the amount of fighters in a wing, and missile ammunition/weapon damage values

Now the game works fine, flawlessly even.

Until I try to approach the mod faction's main star system Nikolaev

I throws me this error everytime.

Spoiler
java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 10
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.CampaignFleetMemberView.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.CampaignFleetView.createItemView(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.CampaignFleetView.createItemView(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.util.CollectionView.sync(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.CampaignFleetView.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.CampaignFleet.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.BaseLocation.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignState.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.BaseGameState.traverse(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
[close]


Even weirder if I can use the console mod to teleport me directly inside the system, even do some trading on the stations in system, and then it'll randomly throw me the above crash.
Logged

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2822
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 07:51:30 PM »

PM Alex with the modified copy of DME.
Logged

Harmful Mechanic

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • For space is wide and good friends are too few.
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2017, 07:59:39 PM »

Also, please let me know what you find out; if it's something I'm doing, I want to fix it as soon as I can.
Logged
People need societies, but they don't necessarily need nations.

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2556
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2017, 08:05:34 PM »

Quick question: did you increase any fighter wings above six fighters per wing?  I know that -used- to be able to cause problems, at least...
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 17260
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2017, 08:39:04 PM »

Yeah, this definitely looks fighter-related, specifically a wing having a size above 10. Other places will not work if the wing size is above 6, that's really the maximum supported by the game.
Logged

Harmful Mechanic

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • For space is wide and good friends are too few.
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2017, 09:57:25 PM »

To clarify, I don't have any fighter wings above six members in the mod as written.
Logged
People need societies, but they don't necessarily need nations.

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 17260
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2017, 10:10:16 PM »

But, from the OP:

I'd changed the amount of fighters in a wing, and missile ammunition/weapon damage values
Logged

SainnQ

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2017, 11:02:21 PM »

I wasn't aware of a game limitation on fighter wing sizes.

I was quite literally attempting to go full *** on fighter wing sizes just to see how things played out.
Infact after parring everything down to normal levels

There is no longer any instability.
I was really hoping I could field some ridiculous fighter swarms too.
Ah well.
Logged

SainnQ

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Crash when entering a specific mod system
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2017, 11:05:01 PM »

I also want to clarify Soren specifically asks folk to not share modified copies of his mod with the playerbase for fear of unreasonable expectations when troubleshooting.

And while he doesn't outright tell anyone not to modify things, the fact remains.
Careful what you mod, there be dragons abound.


Edit: Thank you guys for helping. Can we request thread deletion?
« Last Edit: May 26, 2017, 11:06:46 PM by SainnQ »
Logged