Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: The Hoplites of Corinth  (Read 31142 times)

Arghy

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #15 on: March 01, 2012, 04:35:54 PM »

This is goddamn beautiful.
Logged

Levik

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #16 on: March 01, 2012, 04:47:25 PM »

Excellent work. Medikohl, you far from this :p
« Last Edit: March 01, 2012, 05:00:39 PM by Levik »
Logged
ashes to ashes

medikohl

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 849
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #17 on: March 01, 2012, 06:03:44 PM »

Excellent work. Medikohl, you far from this :p
anything gold and shiny I had nothing to do with.
Logged
"Captain! You can't call our greatest dreadnought 'The Parrot'"
"Watch me"
Spiral Arms: Ship Sprites for Everyone

arwan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #18 on: March 01, 2012, 06:39:42 PM »

are your capital ship hand drawn... looks like it to me..
Logged
Alex
You won't be able to refit fighters and bombers at all. They're designed/balanced around having a particular set of weapons and would be very broken if you could change it. Which ones you pick for your fleet -out of quite a few that are available- is the choice here, not how they're outfitted.

Etfaks

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #19 on: March 02, 2012, 01:58:43 AM »

Thank you for all the kind words!

the pirates eat your ship for breakfast

should eat it's wheaties

Funny that you mention the Heracles class' size. At first it was meant to be a cruiser based on the auroras size. It just somehow grew a bit too much and such became a small/light capital ship focused on offensive capabilities and (relative for cap's) speed. It might be able to get to your engines and then the parrot would be screwed ;)

are your capital ship hand drawn... looks like it to me..

I assure you it is frankensteined. If you look closely you should be able to find parts of especially the paragon, but all hightech ships are pretty much used. However I use incredibly many parts, along with photoshop's dodge, burn & blur, so that might explain the natural look, but it did take a lot of hours. I am kind of perfectionistic about those things, but having a drawing tablet helps tremendously :)

But again, thank you for the praise, it really makes me want to continue :)
Logged
Dev of the mod "The Hoplites of Corinth" and  artist for "Portraits Galore".

mendonca

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #20 on: March 02, 2012, 02:40:12 AM »

But again, thank you for the praise, it really makes me want to continue :)

May as well add to the praise then. These really do look great.
Logged


"I'm doing it, I'm making them purple! No one can stop me!"

Etfaks

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #21 on: March 02, 2012, 07:51:09 AM »

Im currently trying to add a wing of fighters and I have come to a point where i can succesfully boot the game without crashing due to .csv problems etc. However when I try to add a wing of my fighters the mission doesn't work. It won't pick my test mission, but just reverts to the last working mission I had previously clicked on. Any pointers? Since I don't have any direct errors it is difficult troubleshooting it.

the mission file:

Code
package data.missions.test;

import com.fs.starfarer.api.fleet.FleetGoal;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.fleet.FleetMemberType;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.mission.FleetSide;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.mission.MissionDefinitionAPI;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.mission.MissionDefinitionPlugin;

public class MissionDefinition implements MissionDefinitionPlugin {

public void defineMission(MissionDefinitionAPI api) {

// Set up the fleets
api.initFleet(FleetSide.PLAYER, "HSS", FleetGoal.ATTACK, false);
api.initFleet(FleetSide.ENEMY, "TTS", FleetGoal.ATTACK, true);

// Set up the player's fleet
api.addToFleet(FleetSide.PLAYER, "hc_cratus_standard", FleetMemberType.SHIP, true);
api.addToFleet(FleetSide.PLAYER, "hc_dory_wing", FleetMemberType.FIGHTER_WING, false);


// Set up the enemy fleet
api.addToFleet(FleetSide.ENEMY, "hammerhead_Balanced", FleetMemberType.SHIP, false);

// Set up the map.
float width = 10000f;
float height = 5000f;
api.initMap((float)-width/2f, (float)width/2f, (float)-height/2f, (float)height/2f);
}

}

It works when I either delete or // the hc_dory_wing line.
I guess that there is still a problem with either the hull, ship csv, wing csv or variant files right?
Logged
Dev of the mod "The Hoplites of Corinth" and  artist for "Portraits Galore".

arcibalde

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1721
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #22 on: March 02, 2012, 08:07:59 AM »

Your mod is working fine. Just open mod_info.json and put this dude  :

"id":"hc", # internal id



You used everywhere "hc" and yet in your mode_info.json file you put:" "id":"hoplites_of_corinth", # internal id ". That ID is used everywhere and it don't need to be same as mod dir name :)


Nice ships  ;D


« Last Edit: March 02, 2012, 08:30:15 AM by arcibalde »
Logged
Creator of:
Relics MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Vanilla addon MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Project ONI MOD - mission only

Etfaks

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #23 on: March 02, 2012, 08:28:31 AM »

I have a feeling that the mod id doesn't do too much. It at least did not change anything for me (sadly). Any one else with a similar problem and/or a solution?
Logged
Dev of the mod "The Hoplites of Corinth" and  artist for "Portraits Galore".

arcibalde

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1721
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #24 on: March 02, 2012, 08:32:38 AM »

Waaa? Delete your mod from your game mod dir, d/l your mod from your OP change ID in mod_info.json and try it again. Mod is working, i played your mission.
Logged
Creator of:
Relics MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Vanilla addon MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Project ONI MOD - mission only

mendonca

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #25 on: March 02, 2012, 08:35:31 AM »

I'm pretty sure every time I saw that error, it was because I had named my ship wrong (e: in the mission definition).

Just to confirm, you have structured the files something like :-

Fighter hull = hc_dory.ship
Fighter variant = hc_dory_Standard.variant
Fighter wing ID (in wing_data.csv) = hc_dory_wing

??

E: arcibalde - there are no fighters in the file in the OP ...
Logged


"I'm doing it, I'm making them purple! No one can stop me!"

arcibalde

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1721
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #26 on: March 02, 2012, 08:55:10 AM »

Yes i see, but i d/l his mod and mission that i have played is different from this one he put it. I don't have "wing" in it, just "ship".
Logged
Creator of:
Relics MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Vanilla addon MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Project ONI MOD - mission only

Etfaks

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #27 on: March 02, 2012, 09:01:30 AM »

Arcibalde, It is because I am trying to add a wing and balance stuff before releasing it in the OP.

Anyway, my mistake was in the wing.csv file as Mendonca pointed me towards. Thought the id was meant as the hullId of the individual ship, and not a new id (the wing id) which the mission pulls the data from, which in turn pulls from the variant file.

in any case, it worked and it's fine for now, thanks for the troubleshooting guys.
Logged
Dev of the mod "The Hoplites of Corinth" and  artist for "Portraits Galore".

arcibalde

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1721
    • View Profile
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #28 on: March 02, 2012, 12:15:59 PM »

Yes yes yes my bad... Just ignore me :)
Logged
Creator of:
Relics MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Vanilla addon MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Project ONI MOD - mission only

zbmott

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: The Hoplites of Corinth
« Reply #29 on: March 02, 2012, 12:45:41 PM »

You should call it ?? ??????? ?? ???????? (transliterated: Hoi Hoplitai hoi Korinthou), which is "The Hoplites of Corinth" in ancient Greek.  Or maybe I'm just being a pretentious classicist?

EDIT: Apparently the fora don't like Greek characters :(
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4