Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: [0.9.0a] Fleet Tester 1.0 (2019/02/25)  (Read 21517 times)

Tartiflette

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3035
  • Toss a coin to your Modder, O' valley of plenty
    • View Profile
[0.9.0a] Fleet Tester 1.0 (2019/02/25)
« on: February 25, 2019, 02:54:53 AM »


This is a simple utility tool that offers a mission editable on run-time to setup and test various battle scenarios very quickly and test fleet-wide balance or new tactics. It can also help a lot with debugging.




Inside the mission folder you will find two fleet files that will define which ship variants are added to each opposing sides.



Those files can be edited without restarting the game, greatly speeding up the testing process.
They can also be used to setup playable challenges, or situation showcasing balance and AI issues.

Happy testing!
« Last Edit: February 25, 2019, 03:08:15 AM by Tartiflette »
Logged
 

MrDaddyPants

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.0a] Fleet Tester 1.0 (2019/02/25)
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2019, 02:26:09 PM »

Hi. I'm new to starsector.

First thx for the mod. I'm glad i finally found it, cause i learned about it couple of days ago, there's ai fleet tournament.. and for to love of god i couldn't find the mod.. googling, searching on the forum, using google to search the forum. I only found it by finding your old tournament topics, clicking on you and looking at all your posts ^^.

I installed the mod, tried your test fleet battle, looks like it works fine. If i press right ctrl, as per instructions, it's instant CTD.





Spoiler
Here is hopefully relevant part of the log:
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - ____________________________
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - 
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - TOTAL HULLMODS EXPENSES: 49500
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - 
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - TOTAL SHIPS VALUE: 876700
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - 
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - ____________________________
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - 
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - ____________________________
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - 
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - TOTAL FLEET VALUE: 926200
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - 
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - TOTAL DEPLOYMENT COST: 136
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - 
27373 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.scripts.FleetTester_utils  - ____________________________
31487 [Thread-4] INFO  data.missions.FleetTester.MissionDefinition  - Map size: 10000x10000
32468 [Thread-8] INFO  sound.oo0O  - Cleaning up music with id [miscallenous_main_menu.ogg]
32505 [Thread-10] INFO  sound.oo0O  - Creating streaming player for music with id [battle_ambience_01.ogg]
32505 [Thread-10] INFO  sound.null  - Playing music with id [battle_ambience_01.ogg]
67335 [Thread-4] INFO  data.scripts.plugins.FleetTester_freeCamPlugin  - CURSOR FREECAM MODE
67335 [Thread-4] INFO  data.scripts.plugins.FleetTester_freeCamPlugin  - Mouse mult: 12.5
67335 [Thread-4] INFO  data.scripts.plugins.FleetTester_freeCamPlugin  - Screen size: 1280.0 x 800.0
67335 [Thread-4] INFO  data.scripts.plugins.FleetTester_freeCamPlugin  - Battle size 10000.0 x 10000.0
67342 [Thread-8] INFO  sound.oo0O  - Cleaning up music with id [battle_ambience_01.ogg]
67507 [Thread-10] INFO  sound.oo0O  - Creating streaming player for music with id [battle_ambience_01.ogg]
67962 [Thread-10] INFO  sound.null  - Playing music with id [battle_ambience_01.ogg]
68156 [Thread-4] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: data/scripts/util/MagicRender$positioning
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: data/scripts/util/MagicRender$positioning
   at data.scripts.plugins.FleetTester_freeCamPlugin.advance(FleetTester_freeCamPlugin.java:114)
   at com.fs.starfarer.title.Object.float$Oo.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.oOOO.B.super(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatEngine.advanceInner(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatEngine.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatState.traverse(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: data.scripts.util.MagicRender$positioning
   at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
   ... 10 more
[close]

SOLVED. Mod is using magiclib.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2019, 12:43:00 AM by MrDaddyPants »
Logged

writeru

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.0a] Fleet Tester 1.0 (2019/02/25)
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2020, 10:15:02 AM »

Hello, Recently (and because of the tournament) I got curious about the fleet tester and decided to try it.

I have some problems. I Figured out exactly how to write the excel sheets to make the mission. However when I try save it, it always make all ships from that sheet disappear from the mission.

I even tried to simply delete the last ship line, to make sure the problem was not writing in the wrong way, but no, even if I just delete the last ship line and save, all ships still disappear.

When I save the sheet a message appears warning about CVS options and commas, and a yes/no answer. No matter what option I choose from, after I save it, all ships disappear. I even tried a fresh install of the mod when trying each of the options, and both have the same results.

So it looks like I have problems with saving the sheet, how do I solve it?
Logged

Tartiflette

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3035
  • Toss a coin to your Modder, O' valley of plenty
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.0a] Fleet Tester 1.0 (2019/02/25)
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2020, 10:38:47 AM »

Use Notepad++ or Ron's Editor.
Logged
 

writeru

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.0a] Fleet Tester 1.0 (2019/02/25)
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2020, 10:55:44 AM »

Use Notepad++ or Ron's Editor.

Thanks, I was probably being dumb, when I clicked it opened on excel so I thought" that must be it"


Now it's working fine. Im just confused about something. to test I added a kite_hegemony and somehow I got a nebula class instead of a kite(A). I used the same line that was in the starsector core/data/hulls/skins. Why did I got a nebula instead of a kite?

edit: Actually, any line I add makes a nebula class appear, so Im probably writing something wrong, i've been adding lines like this

Code
1,hyperion_Strike,cautious,false
2,hyperion_Attack,cautious,false
3,hyperion_Strike,cautious,false
4,kite_hegemony,cautious,false
5,kite_hegemony,cautious,false
6,brawler_pather,steady,false

But only the hyperion appear properly, all others appear as nebula class
« Last Edit: July 26, 2020, 11:00:10 AM by writeru »
Logged

Tartiflette

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3035
  • Toss a coin to your Modder, O' valley of plenty
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.0a] Fleet Tester 1.0 (2019/02/25)
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2020, 02:16:51 PM »

Because those aren't variants. You need to use the ID in the variant files:
Code
Starsector\starsector-core\data\variants\
Logged