Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: [0.8] Out of Memory error  (Read 5050 times)

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
[0.8] Out of Memory error
« on: April 20, 2017, 12:46:19 PM »

Ummmm, somehow I'm getting an OoM error after I finish loading. I haven't touched anything besides changing a few settings in the settings config! (Armor to 1 and no full screen white outs)
log:
Spoiler
55666 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/particlealpha32sq.png (using cast)
55763 [Thread-4] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
   at sun.misc.Unsafe.allocateMemory(Native Method)
   at java.nio.DirectByteBuffer.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at java.nio.ByteBuffer.allocateDirect(Unknown Source)
   at org.lwjgl.BufferUtils.createByteBuffer(BufferUtils.java:60)
   at com.fs.starfarer.util.o0OO.new(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.ResourceLoaderState.init(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

[close]
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24123
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 12:51:42 PM »

Hmm. I'd suggest rebooting, and failing that, switching to use 64-bit Java. Not sure why this would happen, though - I strongly suspect just a reboot would fix it. Well, than, and/or closing other stuff you might have running.
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 01:09:04 PM »

I am still getting it even though I have restarted and shut down all programs besides Skype and starsector
Edit: Going to try to redownload and reinstall to see if that will fix it
« Last Edit: April 20, 2017, 01:11:43 PM by Midnight Kitsune »
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24123
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 01:12:11 PM »

Hmm - could you give 64-bit Java a go, then?

Also: how much ram do you have? If it's 2GB it's not entirely impossible that the game just needs a bit more than that now, when the OS is factored in. Hopefully that's not the case, though.

Sorry about the trouble!
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 01:20:41 PM »

Hmm - could you give 64-bit Java a go, then?

Also: how much ram do you have? If it's 2GB it's not entirely impossible that the game just needs a bit more than that now, when the OS is factored in. Hopefully that's not the case, though.

Sorry about the trouble!
I have 6 gigs of ram and ran modded .72 fine (with 64 bit java)
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24123
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 01:25:29 PM »

Ok, good to know. Hmm.
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 01:27:00 PM »

Ok, good to know. Hmm.
Seems like others are having the issue in discord as well
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24123
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2017, 01:39:22 PM »

Yeah, I wonder what the common denominator is. Did not run into this on several different Windows machines.

At this point, I think I'll just switch to 64-bit for the 0.8.1a release.
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2017, 01:42:45 PM »

Yeah, I wonder what the common denominator is. Did not run into this on several different Windows machines.

At this point, I think I'll just switch to 64-bit for the 0.8.1a release.
Annnnnd I just fixed it...
How? By REDUCING the allocated RAM to 768MB

Edit: Also, won't going to only 64 bit hurt you? What about those that have only 32 bit systems?
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24123
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2017, 01:53:59 PM »

Annnnnd I just fixed it...
How? By REDUCING the allocated RAM to 768MB

Hah - yeah, that makes sense. Should be just fine for vanilla, too.

Edit: Also, won't going to only 64 bit hurt you? What about those that have only 32 bit systems?

It'd be the same workaround on 32-bit systems - but installing a 32-bit JVM instead. And the market share of 32-bit systems is something like 0.3%, which seems considerably lower than the number of people having to install the 64-bit version. And that's before you factor in mods. So basically same situation (some people need to install a different java version) but just a lot less people affected.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2017, 01:56:12 PM »

Steam HW Survey says that 7.17% of Steam users had a 32-bit operating system in March 2017.  Note that over 5% of users on Steam don't have enough RAM to meet the minimum specifications, so the real impact is quite low.
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2017, 09:55:29 AM »

This is still in the hotfix by the way. Setting the memory lower (to 768) fixes it still though
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24123
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2017, 10:03:32 AM »

Yeah, makes sense - the switch to 64-bit Java will be in the .1 release, too much risk of messing up something to do quickly for a hotfix.


Steam HW Survey says that 7.17% of Steam users had a 32-bit operating system in March 2017.  Note that over 5% of users on Steam don't have enough RAM to meet the minimum specifications, so the real impact is quite low.

Ahh, I was mis-remembering, then. Thanks for the correct info!
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2017, 10:33:36 AM »

Yeah, makes sense - the switch to 64-bit Java will be in the .1 release, too much risk of messing up something to do quickly for a hotfix.


Steam HW Survey says that 7.17% of Steam users had a 32-bit operating system in March 2017.  Note that over 5% of users on Steam don't have enough RAM to meet the minimum specifications, so the real impact is quite low.

Ahh, I was mis-remembering, then. Thanks for the correct info!

Ah OK. I thought you were going to lower the RAM allocated so it wouldn't crash on startup in the mean time
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24123
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8] Out of Memory error
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2017, 10:34:47 AM »

Ah, gotcha. Yeah, that also seems potentially risky - hotfix releases are all about minimizing the risk of mucking something up while fixing things. Which is not to say that I *didn't*, but it wasn't for lack of trying not to :)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2