Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Skills and Story Points (07/08/19)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4]

Author Topic: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0  (Read 54261 times)

SirBrodacious

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0
« Reply #45 on: August 26, 2019, 07:43:38 AM »

Hi! I love this mod as it saves a lot of time, though I'm curious if there'd be a way for activated gates to be added to an intel page? I don't know a lot about modding, so my apologies if this isn't possible or a pain, but I think if it's possible it'd be a great way to keep track of all the active gates in the system. But again, thank you for the mod!
Logged

runetrantor

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0
« Reply #46 on: September 12, 2019, 05:29:23 PM »

100% agree.

Right now I have to take a picture of the sector at the start of a run and mark stuff in the image instead, to know where I have gates.
Logged

Crimson Sky Gaurdian

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0
« Reply #47 on: September 22, 2019, 05:34:47 PM »

It might just be me, but I don't like the idea of being able to build your own gate.
Forget the lore, my main concern is it devalues systems with existing gates (which had only just gained that value too :P ).
Also, is there a way to auto-path through them, similar to how you can path through jump points? Have yet to install because too busy playing (typing in hyperspace) :P
Logged

Hague

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0
« Reply #48 on: September 22, 2019, 06:56:31 PM »

Personally, I think the "fleets using the gates" thing can be solved by simply making the gates themselves into orbital colonies that the player can refurbish with a special building that upgrades through stages to be the working gateway. When fleets show up and disappear, they look like they're passing through the gateway. Give the gateway building a Luddic Path interest of 32. This allows the gateway itself to function as an industry that generates income for the gate owner and as a functional outpost. Once the functional gateway works, the player gets access to the gateway menu. The player would already be paying for the gateway if they controlled it via the building upkeep but if they give it away via Nexerelin or lose it to another faction, they would have to pay fee instead.
Logged

Alfa Cor

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0
« Reply #49 on: September 28, 2019, 02:00:37 AM »

Does having an active gate increase accessibility of colonies in the same system?
Logged

runetrantor

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0
« Reply #50 on: October 07, 2019, 02:03:28 PM »

Pretty sure that as far as the AI is concerned, the gates are as dead as always. 
And accessibility is just a number resulting in set modifiers.

I dont think gates have one attached if they are open. 
Specially as there's no warranty you have already activated a second gate, or if said second gate is not in a red beacon system half the sector away from the core.
Logged

delmiss

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9a] Active Gates 0.2.0
« Reply #51 on: October 09, 2019, 06:30:01 AM »

You find a gate, go into it, and then, NEW SECTOR (after Level 40 cap)! But, you've lost some skills after some sort'a cataclysmic break-up of the fleet due to being unprepared for the jump. Or you trade places with a time-line or some Multiverse mambo-jumbo.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]