Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Author Topic: Java for Dummies: modplugin.java 101 (help)  (Read 2530 times)

Grizzlyadamz

• Commander
    • View Profile
Java for Dummies: modplugin.java 101 (help)
« on: August 06, 2016, 01:10:16 PM »

OK so, I'm a complete noob & looking to make a small campaign mod. After asking for/getting some help from another user, (Thank you!), I've found I still need some more hand-holding.
Here're my impressions after going through some instructions/examples/guides:

The first step to getting a mod into the game is the mod_info.json file.
     This tells the game (and the user) details about the mod, points to the .jar (a pre-compiled version of the .java files; having a .jar is optional but saves on in-game load-time), and finally it points the game to the modplugin.java file.
     Simple enough.

The second step is the modplugin.java (this would be contained in the .jar if you were to compile one (using an IDE)).

The purpose of this plugin is 'to tell starsector to load the campaign/combat plugin'.

But, being a noob, I'd like to know how exactly it does this?

Looking at the SS+ modplugin as an example, it seems to import a bunch of other files & 'extends' the vanilla 'modplugin', (aka it loads everything *that* loads as well).

What does importing do, precisely? Does it just enable references to the variables present in the imported files? What's a rule-of-thumb as far as what gets imported?

It then seems to add some new variables, (seems straight-forward), and then if I understand correctly it checks several variables & sets up contingencies for those, for example returning an error message if you're trying to add SS+ to an already-existing game.