Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Some UI suggestions  (Read 2679 times)

Cyan Leader

• Admiral
    • View Profile
Some UI suggestions
« on: July 18, 2016, 08:07:53 PM »

So after playing the game for a few (dozen) hours this weekend I came across a few personal issues that I think could be fixed with a few UI adjustments, some that might slightly change some gameplay options. I'll leave those here and see if you guys agree with them or not.

One of the things that new players may be the most confused about is why supply consumption keeps going up or down, which is tied with the with repairs/CR recovery of their ships. Alex has always advocated for the use of the stop repairs button so we can fine tune our consumption, but as it stand I feel things aren't as clear as they could be. Therefore, I thought up of small additions to the UI (I'm no artist so please bear with me):

In this first shot we can see my relatively small fleet being eaten alive by supplies consumption. I don't have any idea what can be causing that just from that screen besides the obvious CR bar. I can pause the game and go to the Refit screen to check things out there, but wouldn't it be better if I could simply glance the screen and have a much better idea of what was going on, without interrupting campaign gameplay? Thus, enter:

Most things are explained in the image, but the gist of it is to give players a good idea of what is going on (and handling it) without moving to the more detailed Refit screen and thus not interrupting gameplay. I realize the CR bar at the bottom left does a lot but I always felt it was lacking. I'm no UI designer and I'm sure a better job can be made in regards to the information being displayed, but I believe the stuff being show there is important and should be visible to players on all times during the campaign.