Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]

Author Topic: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4  (Read 273761 times)

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #135 on: January 07, 2021, 12:05:59 AM »

I think I'm having a problem with the normal maps feature, in that they don't seem to apply at all.

They used to work, but as I usually take around 1 year breaks from the game (and update to latest game/mods version as I pick up again), so I'm not exactly sure when it broke. All I know it worked around a year ago, but currently doesn't.

I do have several other mods loaded, but I also tried with only lazylib, magiclib and graphicslib loaded but it didn't help. I've increased my vparams mem settings to around 6 gigabytes, my pc has 16 gigs installed. I also tried with 8 gigs vparams settings, no help. I have 8 gigs of VRAM in my gfx card (Radeon 5700), so should be enough (last year I had a vega 56 which had 6 gigs and that worked). Latest drivers and windows updates installed.

Checking the starsector.log I can see that the game finds and loads the textures, but all lighting effects look flat. Definitely not how I remember them being when normal maps worked.

Anyone have any idea what's causing this?

Note, there is a problem with weapon slot covers that causes the normal to be drawn at the wrong angle.

Still, here are some gifs:

Light source nearby to the left, default settings:


Light source far away to the left, default settings:


Light source far away to the left, -1.0 for normal "tallness":


Light source far away to the left, normal maps disabled:
Logged

Icchan

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #136 on: January 07, 2021, 03:37:35 AM »

Yeah, all of my ships look like the last one.

Also, weapon covers? That's a thing? How do you enable them?
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #137 on: January 07, 2021, 12:04:47 PM »

Yeah, all of my ships look like the last one.

Also, weapon covers? That's a thing? How do you enable them?

Leave a slot blank, and it'll have a cover over it in battle.

Can you upload your GRAPHICS_OPTIONS.ini (Starsector/mods/GraphicsLib/GRAPHICS_OPTIONS.ini)?  Normal maps aren't really the sort of thing that can just "not work".  If the shader fails, generally that means you see nothing (black screen) or get corruption.

Also, please delete starsector.log (Starsector/starsector-core/starsector.log), then start the game, close out from the game, and then grab the new starsector.log and upload here (zip it up if it's too big).
Logged

Icchan

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #138 on: January 07, 2021, 02:37:35 PM »

Uploaded my graphics_options.ini (renamed to .txt because of forum attachment restrictions).

Can't upload log as it's too big even when zipped (400KB), but I did find this right at the end of the log, seems relevant:
Quote
69457 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.loading.LoadingUtils  - Loading JSON from [GRAPHICS_OPTIONS.ini]
69462 [Thread-4] ERROR org.dark.shaders.util.ShaderLib  - Error creating shader: Fragment shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 0:23: error(#223) Vector component fields not from the same set: za
ERROR: 0:37: error(#223) Vector component fields not from the same set: za
ERROR: error(#273) 2 compilation errors.  No code generated


69462 [Thread-4] ERROR org.dark.shaders.light.LightShader  - Normal transform shader compile error!  Normals disabled!

EDIT: I downloaded version 1.4.0 of GraphicsLib and ran Starsector with it, no errors and normal maps work. Gonna keep testing with later versions.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2021, 03:05:44 PM by Icchan »
Logged

Icchan

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #139 on: January 07, 2021, 03:18:29 PM »

So I ran with some older versions of graphicslib and versions up to 1.4.2 work fine, from 1.4.3 onwards I get that error in the log and normal maps don't work in the game.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #140 on: January 08, 2021, 08:03:38 PM »

So I ran with some older versions of graphicslib and versions up to 1.4.2 work fine, from 1.4.3 onwards I get that error in the log and normal maps don't work in the game.

Go to data/shaders/lights/2dtangent.frag and replace data.za with data.zw
Logged

Icchan

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #141 on: January 09, 2021, 03:40:50 AM »

Yep. That fixed it.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2621
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #142 on: January 09, 2021, 01:17:07 PM »

Yep. That fixed it.

Cool!  I'll work this into the next update.  Thanks!
Logged

Icchan

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] GraphicsLib 1.4.4
« Reply #143 on: January 09, 2021, 01:23:10 PM »

NP and thank you, this mod is awesome.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]