Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.  (Read 2407 times)

Euphytose

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« on: December 26, 2015, 04:45:24 AM »

Whenever I fight a huge fleet, I have around 80 deployment points, which allows me to deploy 3 ships. However, if the enemy fleet is fairly small, I have more than 100. I don't understand why the bigger the enemy fleet is, the less ships I can deploy myself.

Thanks.
Logged

TaLaR

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2263
    • View Profile
Re: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2015, 04:48:52 AM »

The fleet that is larger gets more deployment points, up to 60% of max battle size.
Default is 200, so you get 80..120 points depending on enemy fleet.
Logged

Euphytose

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Re: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2015, 05:10:55 AM »

Ok, this makes sense.

Is the limit there for gameplay or performance purposes?
Logged

TaLaR

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2263
    • View Profile
Re: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2015, 05:18:46 AM »

Both, I guess. Can be increased to 500 in options.
Larger battles are more fun, but also difficult, since your personal influence is less. And at 500 I experience serious slowdowns.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2015, 05:26:13 AM by TaLaR »
Logged

Euphytose

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 345
    • View Profile
Re: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2015, 05:31:11 AM »

Oh yes, I remember this option. Didn't know what it was so I left it on default.
Logged

Weltall

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 770
    • View Profile
Re: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2015, 10:37:26 AM »

You can always bump it to 400. I say this only because Starsector+, one of the two major mods, does that when you use it. Of course in battles where there are many ships, you can imagine there will be quite a lot of lag XD Dat chaos.
Logged
Ignorance is bliss..

Achataeon

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
  • ~stare~
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2015, 01:18:43 PM »

Even more so if you use a crappy laptop with a crap amount of ram coupled with crap processor and crap gpu.
Logged
"On average, a human has one breast and one testicle"
- Vsauce, Michael here

Weltall

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 770
    • View Profile
Re: Something I don't understand with the deployment points limit.
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2015, 01:42:20 PM »

Let's not forget if you have ATI GPU it will be ever worse T_T
Logged
Ignorance is bliss..