Fractal Softworks Forum

Starsector => General Discussion => Topic started by: SeinTa on December 01, 2018, 02:21:16 PM

Title: Alpha Admins
Post by: SeinTa on December 01, 2018, 02:21:16 PM
"An option that makes all the other choices terrible in comparison, with no apparent downside? Seems like poor design, if you ask me."

How do I have to poke them to do something?

3 years my colonies have been flourishing and my enemies have been crushed at every step on the way. When do I start the Third AI war?
Better yet, HOW can I start the Third AI war?
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: SCC on December 01, 2018, 02:26:17 PM
When do I start the Third AI war?
In the future update, duh. This isn't a finished game.
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: The Soldier on December 01, 2018, 02:49:20 PM
Ah, just wait for the downsides.  Just you wait. :)
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: arwan on December 04, 2018, 04:25:18 AM
uuuh.. when i tried to remove an alpha core from a colony it had other (blackmail) ideas. just saying there are some downsides already in game.
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: Rounin on December 04, 2018, 07:18:50 AM
Why would you remove it?
Just let it play Sim Planet with your colony.
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: Goumindong on December 04, 2018, 10:18:58 AM
Well if you were subject to an AI inspection and didn’t want to go hostile with the hegemony
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: Wyvern on December 04, 2018, 10:22:05 AM
Well if you were subject to an AI inspection and didn’t want to go hostile with the hegemony
Just bribe them.  That's really the only acceptable answer to an AI inspection.  Removing cores is worse than cooperating.
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: The Soldier on December 04, 2018, 10:49:11 AM
Just bribe them.  That's really the only acceptable answer to an AI inspection.  Removing cores is worse than cooperating.
You can replace any cores in that colony with Gamma Cores (unless for some reason you decided to put an Alpha Core as Administrator, in which case other problems might arise).  If you do any amount of exploration, you'll be swimming in Gamma Cores, very expendable and cost far less than the bribe.  Just swap out the cores a second before the Inspection Fleet arrives, let them take them, and then put the original cores back in.  Just make sure to keep a core in the same spots.

So no, there's other perfectly acceptable answers to AI Inspections.
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: Wyvern on December 04, 2018, 11:07:42 AM
Just bribe them.  That's really the only acceptable answer to an AI inspection.  Removing cores is worse than cooperating.
You can replace any cores in that colony with Gamma Cores (unless for some reason you decided to put an Alpha Core as Administrator, in which case other problems might arise).  If you do any amount of exploration, you'll be swimming in Gamma Cores, very expendable and cost far less than the bribe.  Just swap out the cores a second before the Inspection Fleet arrives, let them take them, and then put the original cores back in.  Just make sure to keep a core in the same spots.

So no, there's other perfectly acceptable answers to AI Inspections.
Huh.  That works?  Neat.  I'd still generally prefer to bribe, as credits are less of a limited resource than gamma cores - In my longest-running save, I've only got ~40 gamma cores, which would suffice for about five inspections.  Maybe four?  (I'm up to a total of six alpha and 14 beta cores, though they're obviously not all installed on the same planet.)
Title: Re: Alpha Admins
Post by: Flying Birdy on December 05, 2018, 08:15:19 AM
Just bribe them.  That's really the only acceptable answer to an AI inspection.  Removing cores is worse than cooperating.
You can replace any cores in that colony with Gamma Cores (unless for some reason you decided to put an Alpha Core as Administrator, in which case other problems might arise).  If you do any amount of exploration, you'll be swimming in Gamma Cores, very expendable and cost far less than the bribe.  Just swap out the cores a second before the Inspection Fleet arrives, let them take them, and then put the original cores back in.  Just make sure to keep a core in the same spots.

So no, there's other perfectly acceptable answers to AI Inspections.

What happens when you do put an alpha as an admin? I've never actually had any issues. Care to spoil for me?